Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Room with luvly view

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Avertised as room with view over city or race course We were given room on 2nd floor directly opposite a building with offices in it - direct view Heating system noisey and couldn't control temperature Controls partially hidden behind wardrobe door so impossible to read Next day given a new room on same floor with excellent view over race course beautiful room We were told hotel was having problems with heating ! Can we in future have what you avertise Also can you ask what deals the hotel are giving as for the cost of two nights room only you charged us £213 On the hotels web site two nights B and B and evening meal was £99 per night staying before the end of November
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North West England

Would have been better- but

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very nice hotel and superb location but spoilt for us by an inappropriate function. We returned to the hotel after a concert at the Cathedral at 10.30 to find live music being played in the restaurant for a private function. This went on till just after midnight. We were offered another room but it wouldn't have helped much as you could hear the music outside. If we had known in advance we wouldn't have booked the hotel. Shame as everything else was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Modern, clean, well situated hotel.
Cons: Parking was limited (underground, with separate lift to reception and then rooms). Breakfast on first morning was slow; seemed to struggle with number
Location: City centre Chester, close to all its points of interest and the racecourse.
Hotel is well situated for Chester city centre and racecourse. Newish hotel in excellent condition. Breakfast was very slow one of the mornings but, otherwise fine. Couples type of hotel. Parking a bit restricted and a challenge for taking luggage into hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicestershire

Reception staff unwelcoming

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The room was clean, and the location was convenient.
Cons: Reception staff unwelcoming, the poor lad in the bar hadn't a clue what he was doing yet had been left on his own and had to keep going off to get someone else, the room was freezing cold, was told the cleaner had switched the heating of centrally it was switched back on but remained freezing cold, they did offer another room which was better, although you couldn't get the subtitles off the TV. There was very loud music coming from the gym at 9am.
Location: The location is very good and there are plenty of places to eat around you. The shopping centre is very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for Chester walks and races

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Room size and quality if furnishings, hotel location.
Cons: An ice machine, didn't look too hard so didn't know if there was one but would have been handy if there was reference in the hotel welcome book.
Location: Miller and carter streak house, fantastic, great walks around the city walls and close to the roman gardens and amphitheatre.
Great service and very good hotel, try to get a room overlooking the race course, doesn't matter if there no racing great view. Book breakfast at the hotel not before as it's only £10 at the hotel, cooked fresh good selection of fruits etc. Really enjoyed our stay with a great steak house round the corner I can recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Good for a night away

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Good location.. not too far from where it's all happening!!
Cons: Rooms Ok - pillow cases had a few stains. Expected free bottled water for a 180 a night hotel.
Location: Close to bars and shops
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dartford

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The room was a great size with a huge bed. The shower room was spotless and well maintained.
Cons: We would have expected hair conditioner as standard in the bathroom but there was none supplied.
Location: The location was perfect for our needs, 5 mins from the University Campus and less into the city centre. There was also a wonderful gastro pub nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Great room and efficient staff. We had breakfast which was good. Great view over the racecourse. Would go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Ideal for a short business trip.

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for one night on a business trip. It is in an ideal setting for getting into Chester. The hotel is well appointed and comfortable with clean comfortable rooms with free wifi. I ate in the hotel bar and the food was nice. Staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Parking is available for a cost underneath the hotel. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Really comfortable stay 😊, definitely will be back to stay again.