Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carpark more comftable to sleep on..

Posted May 18, 2017
Bed springs still stuck in my back. Door didnt close properly handle kept falling off. Weird smell.. good shower. Dated needs a but of tlc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Nice hotel and not to expensive lovely staff

Posted May 14, 2017
The bed was really comfy I had the best sleep ever since having my little girl defiantly recommend this hotel. Nice swimming area lovely food from the Caffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Nicholas hotel needs updating.

Posted May 12, 2017
Disappointed with the WiFi as gave impression that it was totally free but was not and the limited speed was terrible. Slow service in the bar staff not looking happy with there lot in life.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

3 night stay

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Plenty of areas to sit and relax, peaceful atmosphere. Room & beds comfortable Pool small but, nice and warm,
Cons: Customer service, Room service, Changing room toilet dusty dirty
Breakfast adequate, DIY coffee & tea served in flasks very, very weak, steam room & fun shower not open, some of the lights in room not working.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A major investment in staff, building and amenities
Modern reception, then goes downhill from there on in. Rooms dated , food appalling, staff very aloof. Two out four options in spa were closed, changing rooms were dirty, Couple having tantric sex in the pool, attendants non interested. Dinner was a canteen similar to school, very poor food and service. No mention of this when booking . They apparently cater for coach parties. Avoid this place like the plague, I feel seriously cheated. The look on people's faces when checking out sums this place up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

No complaints.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Room was nice. Staff were helpful. Bar was nice and had comfortable seating.
Cons: For what I paid for my room, I cannot complain.
Location: The only problem for me, not being familiar with the area, is that there isn't anywhere to walk to and I don't know all the roads around.
Staff very helpful. I use this hotel to meet up with my grandson occasionally for a "treat" as it's nice for us to get together sometimes but difficult as we don't live near each other. It's fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Disgusted and disappointed with my booking :(

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: It was dissapointing from the start.Staff could not find my booking and made me wait a hour.The staff were unproffesional & lacked care or compasion
Cons: Give customers what they pay for.Don't overbook rooms online.Make sure rooms are cleaner,better maintained.sort out heating and hot water.Hotel smelt.
Location: Sort the hotel and staff first.customers just want to be comfortable and get what they pay for. I am owed £101. I am totally disgusted.
I am totally disgusted with my stay at the hotel.Never have I ever experienced such lack of care and mistreatment from anyone.Especially for a customer whose spending £124 on two night stay. I was changed rooms 3 times.I had no heating and was given electric heaters.I booked a double room but was given a twin room with two beds put together.The bathroom was dirty and disgusting & there was no flowing water. Merely a treacle of water pouring from a tap.It was not even hot water.The doors in the rooms did not close.There was no privacy and the noise levels throughout the day & night were terrible. I opened an account for a tab to use the bar however I did not use it and I did not get my money back. I am disgraced by the treatment I have received after many complaints.The rooms were dirty and I couldn't even breathe.There were outside greenery from the trees coming into the windows. A plumber had to come into my room in the late hours of the evening at night. I had no sleep for both my nights and even though I attempted to book elsewhere there was nothing available.This is utterly disgusting to show rooms to customers which are not available, but expect customers to pay full price.Im not happy & I think I should be reimbursed as I didn't get what I paid for,neither did i get any sleep and as well as constantly being thrown from one room to another I had no hot water or heating. I refuse to pay £124 for this. I will never recommend this hotel in the further.I have pictures
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Nice pool shame about the room!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Pool
Cons: Rooms
Location: Lots of outdoors stuff to do with kids
Room was cold, dated and worn out in general. Pool was nice but needs work all around it to make it smart.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrow

Good basic hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Comfortable room. The cleaners of the room was good. The temperature of room was acceptable and there was 24 hours hot water. The breakfast was of good quantity and quality and the dinning area really cosy and elegant. Of course I have to mention that the coffee was of poor quality and really was something between coffee and cream to wash the dishes. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the main reception area cosy, tudy and very clean. I have to admit though that, there was a constant smell in the room and I believe is the type of bleach the hotel is using to clean the bathroom and the room. Also, something that is on the negative side is that, the staff didn't bring dir the second night another bath foam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watford

Overpriced

Posted Apr 7, 2017
What may have once been a very good hotel is now an old outdated building in desperate need of refurbishment. The room was nice enough, very clean, but the bed was hard, the TV small and archaic with only a few channels and no hdmi input and the promised free wifi was non existent. The food in the restaurant was mediocre at best and the service in the bar abysmal.