Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from caergwrle

Birthday stay at hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Very relaxing hotel with lovely surroundings
Location: Just enjoyed the Spa
Luvly room staff friendly & helpful fabulous breakfast as usual then luvly swim in fab pool very comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Lovely setting

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The setting
Cons: Showers and cleanliness
Stayed over after attending Christmas party there. Unfortunately getting ready for the party proved difficult as we couldn't get any water through the shower at all. The only water we could get was a small trickle in the bath which was cold. When I told reception they said it was because so many people getting ready which is a pretty poor excuse. Told them again when checking out as were a number of other people but they just said sorry about that which I don't think is enough when the rooms are so expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hove

lovely setting ,lovely building and grounds

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Chester was a nice place to visit. Congleton- Morton has a beautiful English heritage building
the room was nice (room 212) however the water did not stay in the wash basin. The building regulations require the temperature of the bath water not to exceed 48deg c however the temperature appeared to be set at 36.5. The staff were all very friendly. The swimming pool and spa was lovely however some of the jets in the spa did not seem to be working, this was not a problem. Yes we would recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport

Noisy rooms. Very !

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Visiting family. Chester close by. Area around is pretty
There is no sound blocking by the doors of the rooms. Even when people are in their own rooms. In the corridor it sounded like people walking past talking had been in our own room. What a shame. Beautiful hotel otherwise but at the price charged it should resolve what is a basic issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Nice hotel, bad service

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel is well laid out. It's a bit remote from most places so not a convenient base. Mainly geared for golf Service worst ever experienced - bags lost in storage, haphazard service in restaurants and bar, overcharged $500 at checkout. Not at all apologetic. Training required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Spacious rooms. Comfortable. Bathrooms need updating. Air conditioning lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Lovely hotel. Very clean. Spa is a little dated and changing rooms not the cleanest . Over all stay good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stop over

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Lovely room and grounds
Cons: The service was slow in The Vines for dinner, while the food for breakfast was poor - lack of variety and taste.
First impressions weren't great - the housekeeper was rude to my son while we were checking in. The bedrooms were lovely but the corridor leading to the bedrooms was being re-furbished with paint/wallpaper stripped off the walls. On the day we were leaving we couldn't get out of our room as the workmen were steaming the walls - certainly not what I would expect for what I paid for the room. The toiletries were from the White Company - great attention to detail, so I was a little disappointed when the coffee in the room was Nescafe! We went to use the pool, had to be careful of the tiles as they were very slippery when wet! Lots of kids in the pool ignoring rules of no running/jumping etc. There was a life guard but he was cleaning the mirrors. We then went for dinner in the Vines - food was great, but service was slow. Breakfast at 8am was not overly busy, lots of staff around. Buffet breakfast was very basic, similar to what you would expect at a 3 star hotel breakfast - the hot food was tasteless, and coffee was horrid. It's such a shame as it's a wonderful hotel but the dining experience certainly let it down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, room and facilities.

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist, check in nice and easy, room stunning with amazing views. Very clean and modern interior, bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast delicious, facilities great, only small moan is incredibly slippy pool side, much more than normal. Very central to lots of attractions, will most definetly return!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whitwell

Excellent grounds inside very tired ,

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Inside very tired, tiles in bathroom mixed , not found matching tiles , All room wants improving, in fact all in sides want improving all very tired