Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Cons: Ensure people know about extra costs. Pillows in the rooms due to being very hard.
Location: Toby carvery.
Size of the room was disappointing, could have got a better size at premier inn. There was building work going on outside reception enterance meaning you were walking all through mud and could not park your vehicle near the enterance. No disabled parking bays available due to the work going on. The spa and pool we were told was included in our rates only to find you have to pay £15.00 per room. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as it is very exspensive. Toiletries provided were poor quality. Did not lather well and very hard to get out of the bottle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Location: A short bus ride into Chester, with departure and return stops located close to site enterance.
A very good experience, very helpful staff, from reception to restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Good location Great Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Spacious well equipped rooms.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Chester zoo a great day out with or without children. Well situated to travel to the many things to do in the area.
Although we only stayed for two nights at this hotel we found it to be a very pleasing experience. The rooms are clean well presented and equipped. The staff could not have been more helpful even to the point of providing us with details of, contact number and directions to the local main dealer for our car which had developed a fault on our way to the hotel. Our short stay here was a relaxing and enjoyable experience despite the problem with our car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
A reasonable hotel and we would return. The staff in the restaurant were very nice but service was a bit disorganised (perhaps due to building work and relocation of the main restaurant).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Horwich

Relax - Swim - Eat - Sleep

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Overall, excellent hotel with many great features and friendly, professional staff
Location: Very easy access to Chester Zoo, and (unfortunately for my wallet) Cheshire Oaks Retail Centre.
You would never have thought that you could have fitted 3 trips to the pool, one great gourmet burger, and still have time to relax into a one night stay - the hotel was very smart and professionally presented both in its design and its staff. The room was spacious, very clean and very quiet - everything you needed for a comfortable nights sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Previous stay great; this time - disappointing

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Parking; water pressure & temperature of the bath.The surrounding was still nice and it was great to have a walk around, especially after a big meal.
Cons: Review of staffing cover and attention to detail especially on the maintenance front.
Reception was empty on arrival (just before 1600hrs, weekday). Room allocated on the ground floor was quiet. Room itself slightly lacked of maintenance in general from doors to carpet when compared with the same type of room located on the second floor which I stayed 10 days ago; used breakfast order cards from other room, almost broken ironing board, and a few other slight broken items in the room plus light in the fridge and wardrobe either not working/switched. The bedding... as it was not well prepared e.g. pillow sticking out and stained. Also felt the room crammed - not sure if this room was smaller than the last room, perhaps due the different configurations? Although the room temperature on the air conditioner system set at 20c it felt warmer than that. The evening meal at the hotel restaurant was still tasteful and the staff was friendly. However, perhaps the staffing level was a bit low, there was hardly staff attending the table - apart from the first glass of water and the first ordered drink on arrival, there was hardly an opportunity to be able to order another drink at the table until the server came along and offered to help which I really appreciated as she was running around non-stop. Lastly, only a very minor element - the complimentary offered when checking in, didn't arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good facilities; 4.5 out of 5

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Nice surroundings. Evening meal was delicious with very attentive staff. The spa looked nice unfortunately didn't have enough time to try.
Cons: Very minor elements stated in last section.
The room is clean, quiet, especially considering there was a wedding reception on. Good and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - does what it says on the tin

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel staff were great and the spa was lovely. Room was no frills but clean and just what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely hotel close to town but far away for peace

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Dining area lovely atmosphere . Spa and sauna great .gardens well kept
Cons: Bit more cleaner in room
Location: All sorts to do in Chester you could just relax at hotel as the bar/lounge/ and spa area are great
Would stay again getting a taxi bit of a pain on race day but all round Good hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Great hotel, lovely spa

Posted May 8, 2016
Stayed for 2 nights as we were going to Chester Races. We were allocated a suite which was lovely, huge comfy bed, clean and good location in the hotel. Great food in the Brasserie on one of the evenings and good value for money. Went to the spa twice which was lovely, very clean and nice and warm. Would definitely visit again!!