Ratings based on 627 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 2, 2017
We received a very friendly welcome from the concierge and receptionist; and that approach from the staff continued throughout our stay. We booked a junior suite, which is perfect if you are staying with children. The hotel is spacious and very clean. It is also very quiet and conveniently positioned just outside Chester. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we look forward to staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Best Staff

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Driving past it
We have been travelling for the past year and the staff. At this hotel are the kindest and most helpful we have come across in our year. Thevhav gone the extra mile, we had a room upgrade so we had a little more space and many other things done to make our stay more comfortable. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High Peak

Not to far from central Chester

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Nice gin menu nice staff good facilities at the spa massage was fantastic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Hotel was ok but construction work being done

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Ebookers
On arrival there was a queue on check in 15min, the out side of the hotel was like a building site. The spar pool was over crowded and the massage I had felt like it was the first one the lady had ever given. I was very disappointed as I've stayed in a number of Hilton hotels and standards are normally high
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
A comfortable stay, very well positioned for visiting Chester and surrounding area. I expected a bit more attention to detail from a hotel of this standard, did not quite live up to its reputation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

clean and pleasant but now charge extra for pool

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Romm, location
Cons: Stop charging your loyal guests extra to use the pool you advertise
Location: near chester and outlet/ zoo
Very disappointing, i have stayed here many times for the proximity to Chester and the pool/ spa facilities. when you pay top end money to stay in a hotel with a pool you would expect to use the pool but Hilton have now decided that the pool and spa are all extras? very Ryan air style very poor from Hilton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fine but the building work was awful

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The room was fine
Cons: All of the above
While I understand that sometimes building work has to be carried out, the work at the Doubletree was on a grand scale, parts of the hotel were shut off. The reason for my discomfort in the hotel was that at 7:30 am (on the dot) the work started literally below my room. There were bumps and thuds and at one point it felt as if the floor was going to go through after a particular judder that i felt through the floor. It continued through the morning and I had booked the Hilton because I wanted a good nights rest and relaxed morning before a very important meeting with one of our biggest customers. On arrival the front of the hotel was a mess, the car park was covered in mud and was very untidy Had I known about the building work before booking I certainly would not have invited my largest customer to meet at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Cons: Ensure people know about extra costs. Pillows in the rooms due to being very hard.
Location: Toby carvery.
Size of the room was disappointing, could have got a better size at premier inn. There was building work going on outside reception enterance meaning you were walking all through mud and could not park your vehicle near the enterance. No disabled parking bays available due to the work going on. The spa and pool we were told was included in our rates only to find you have to pay £15.00 per room. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as it is very exspensive. Toiletries provided were poor quality. Did not lather well and very hard to get out of the bottle.
3 out of 5
by Robert

dirty room

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Couple of things. Noise level. We put the cushions from the bed along the bottom of the door to try and dull the sound of people passing and using the lift. I understand people going about their business, but the doors are not sealed sufficiently to reduce noise levels. Secondly. Dirty walls, skirting and the internal surface of the bathroom. The wall had a 4cm long smear of what looked like blood. This came off relatively easily with a damp cloth. The skirting board along the side of the bed is splattered with a spillage of some kind, again this will rub off. The bath room door has a collection of fingerprints and general dirt. For a hotel of this 'quality' 4* i find the above completely unacceptable, we have used various hotels around the UK with less *'s but were spotless and hoovered on a daily basis. Also the £15 to use the spa facilities was an extra we did not expect to pay. This is not included on the hotel website. Other more exclusive hotels do not charge for the use of these facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was Generally ok the Major issue was that I had to wait around in the lobby while the staff checed if my room had been service. This was at 17:00 hours. which one would have thought the room would be accesable