Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from High Peak

Not to far from central Chester

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Nice gin menu nice staff good facilities at the spa massage was fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

clean and pleasant but now charge extra for pool

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Romm, location
Cons: Stop charging your loyal guests extra to use the pool you advertise
Location: near chester and outlet/ zoo
Very disappointing, i have stayed here many times for the proximity to Chester and the pool/ spa facilities. when you pay top end money to stay in a hotel with a pool you would expect to use the pool but Hilton have now decided that the pool and spa are all extras? very Ryan air style very poor from Hilton
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was fine but the building work was awful

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The room was fine
Cons: All of the above
While I understand that sometimes building work has to be carried out, the work at the Doubletree was on a grand scale, parts of the hotel were shut off. The reason for my discomfort in the hotel was that at 7:30 am (on the dot) the work started literally below my room. There were bumps and thuds and at one point it felt as if the floor was going to go through after a particular judder that i felt through the floor. It continued through the morning and I had booked the Hilton because I wanted a good nights rest and relaxed morning before a very important meeting with one of our biggest customers. On arrival the front of the hotel was a mess, the car park was covered in mud and was very untidy Had I known about the building work before booking I certainly would not have invited my largest customer to meet at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Cons: Ensure people know about extra costs. Pillows in the rooms due to being very hard.
Location: Toby carvery.
Size of the room was disappointing, could have got a better size at premier inn. There was building work going on outside reception enterance meaning you were walking all through mud and could not park your vehicle near the enterance. No disabled parking bays available due to the work going on. The spa and pool we were told was included in our rates only to find you have to pay £15.00 per room. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant as it is very exspensive. Toiletries provided were poor quality. Did not lather well and very hard to get out of the bottle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was Generally ok the Major issue was that I had to wait around in the lobby while the staff checed if my room had been service. This was at 17:00 hours. which one would have thought the room would be accesable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from syston

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for Cheshire Oaks shopping

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to find, spacious reception and restaurant areas The room was clean and tidy, massive bed, and no noise problems even though I was close to the lifts
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well below usual Hilton standards

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelt of drains, which we traced to the sink in the bathroom that was backing up and taking a long time to empty, reception said they would tell the maintenance man!! I sent back my main course of fish curry as there was no taste of curry just a very creamy source, after speaking to the chef, the waitress said it was a mild curry, I suggested she ask the chef to taste it. We asked for some water in our room, reception said they would send it up, it never arrived
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel great for a visit to Chester

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great local for visiting Chester, the pool and spa are very relaxing. The onsite Marco Pierre Whight Steakhouse offers a nice atmosphere for a meal, only downside was the service on our visit was somewhat lacklustre. Very close got the shopping outlet village. Would definitely stay here again when visiting Chester.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for a wedding nearby, staff were friendly and helpful arranging a taxi for us. We went down to the spa in the morning which was lovely. There seemed to be lots of events from or at this hotel which had a knock on effect on room service trays being left at the end of corridors for quite a while. Lovely hotel though with comfortable bed and very good spa facilities, would definitely stay here again. It is too far out for shopping in Chester by foot, need to get transport.