Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Location: A short bus ride into Chester, with departure and return stops located close to site enterance.
A very good experience, very helpful staff, from reception to restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Good location Great Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Spacious well equipped rooms.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Chester zoo a great day out with or without children. Well situated to travel to the many things to do in the area.
Although we only stayed for two nights at this hotel we found it to be a very pleasing experience. The rooms are clean well presented and equipped. The staff could not have been more helpful even to the point of providing us with details of, contact number and directions to the local main dealer for our car which had developed a fault on our way to the hotel. Our short stay here was a relaxing and enjoyable experience despite the problem with our car.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
A reasonable hotel and we would return. The staff in the restaurant were very nice but service was a bit disorganised (perhaps due to building work and relocation of the main restaurant).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Horwich

Relax - Swim - Eat - Sleep

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Overall, excellent hotel with many great features and friendly, professional staff
Location: Very easy access to Chester Zoo, and (unfortunately for my wallet) Cheshire Oaks Retail Centre.
You would never have thought that you could have fitted 3 trips to the pool, one great gourmet burger, and still have time to relax into a one night stay - the hotel was very smart and professionally presented both in its design and its staff. The room was spacious, very clean and very quiet - everything you needed for a comfortable nights sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Previous stay great; this time - disappointing

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Parking; water pressure & temperature of the bath.The surrounding was still nice and it was great to have a walk around, especially after a big meal.
Cons: Review of staffing cover and attention to detail especially on the maintenance front.
Reception was empty on arrival (just before 1600hrs, weekday). Room allocated on the ground floor was quiet. Room itself slightly lacked of maintenance in general from doors to carpet when compared with the same type of room located on the second floor which I stayed 10 days ago; used breakfast order cards from other room, almost broken ironing board, and a few other slight broken items in the room plus light in the fridge and wardrobe either not working/switched. The bedding... as it was not well prepared e.g. pillow sticking out and stained. Also felt the room crammed - not sure if this room was smaller than the last room, perhaps due the different configurations? Although the room temperature on the air conditioner system set at 20c it felt warmer than that. The evening meal at the hotel restaurant was still tasteful and the staff was friendly. However, perhaps the staffing level was a bit low, there was hardly staff attending the table - apart from the first glass of water and the first ordered drink on arrival, there was hardly an opportunity to be able to order another drink at the table until the server came along and offered to help which I really appreciated as she was running around non-stop. Lastly, only a very minor element - the complimentary offered when checking in, didn't arrived.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good facilities; 4.5 out of 5

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Nice surroundings. Evening meal was delicious with very attentive staff. The spa looked nice unfortunately didn't have enough time to try.
Cons: Very minor elements stated in last section.
The room is clean, quiet, especially considering there was a wedding reception on. Good and comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Sockton on Tees

Avoid Chester on Race days

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
The main hotel bar was very crowded and the service was poor. Avoid Chester on Race days The Cheshire Oaks Shopping is very close and well worth a visit
5 out of 5
by tom from Grimsby

Lovely hotel with great staff and facilities

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, really well looked after and in a beautiful spot. Gym and facilities were really good and room was a good size, comfortable and clean. Location was a bit far out of the centre to walk, either a 5 minute drive or a taxi required, which meant that you would need to do the same if you was going to eat somewhere other than the hotel restaurant. Marco Pierre White restaurant was nice, good was really good, however, not great value for money as portions were a bit on the small side for the cost, but it did taste great. Breakfast in the morning in the restaurant was brilliant with a great range to choose from. We used the hotel for a stopover to go to Chester zoo the next day which was ideal as it was a couple of minutes drive down one road to get there. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Cant remember the ladies name on the desk but she helped us get our room a bit before check in time and went out her way to get us directions to the centre and were to park. Would definitely use again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - does what it says on the tin

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The hotel staff were great and the spa was lovely. Room was no frills but clean and just what we needed.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Lancaster

Great hotel, very nice spa

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great Hotel just outside Chester city centre.