Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect weekend

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Beautiful reception, comfortable room, fabulous spa & amazing food in Ciro's restaurant
Cons: Nothing to dislike good location staff & facilities will hopefully teturn
Location: 10 mins out of Chester
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

A lovely three day break

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: The run into Chester easy and many things to walk about and see. Lovely shops and restaurants including " upstairs at the grill " recommended
Room very nice overlooking nice outdoor area with lovely water feature. Nelson's bar very nice very comfortable seating area staff good. Main restaurant menu and food good. Only disappointment was the breakfast scrambled eggs not good. That's the only negative in a lovely break away with friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel For a few days break

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Booked last min, for a couple of days away! Fantastic! Just far enough out of town, peaceful break with good facilities would recommend to anyone!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dreadful customer service.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was very nice.
Cons: Huge improvement needed in customer service.
We were expecting something quite special and were deeply disappointed. I ordered a executive room and we were given a room where two people couldn't even pass each other it was that small. My husband went to see if we could change rooms only to be told that we were in a stand double and that we had not booked the executive room. My husband assured them that we had but was made out to be a liar so had to pay a further £80 to upgrade. We had to then get the booking up on my phone and then they still had to take the reference number down as if we were still lying. We then received £40 back but there was no free upgrade because of the inconvenience or the fact we had not been believed. The new room was nice but very dusty and to get to it you had to walk through the bar and then it felt like we were walking into the kitchen. The staff were extremely miserable and just appeared as though they didn't care or want to be there and wouldn't even look at us. We won't be returning and as it was my husband's 40th I was so disappointed with the lack of customer service and I will be telling others to avoid this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Gary from Bristol

Excellent as always

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed many times. Will continue to do so and especially after their makeover.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
One night on way home from Liverpool. Was comfortable, but very poor wi fi connection and no o2 connection at all. Room spacious and had everything needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from County Durham, UK

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location with lovely surroundings and on a regular bus route into Chester city centre. Ample parking. Eating options very nice. Spa facilities fab.
Cons: Outside dining, bottled water in room.
Location: 15 mins bus route from Chester. Tatton Park and Cheshire Oaks designer outlet close by too.
The reception is very grand and impressive. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were particularly pleased with the knowledge of the area one reception staff member had which she shared with us ensuring we got the most out of our weekend. We had never been to Chester before so this was much appreciated. The room was a tad smaller than I'd hoped but was only a standard so can't be too disappointed. It was very clean and had everything in it we needed. If staying longer than 3 nights however a bigger room would be better. The restaurant and bar were also very pleasing, with wide selection of meals and nice wines. The gardens were pleasant although there were 3 weddings taking place across the 3 nights we stayed and they take up some of the garden area. They also made breakfast quite busy!! We also used the spa facilities which were very impressive. The sauna was out of use but this didn't bother us. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Philip from Perth.

Fabulous retreat to getaway from it all!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Best Hotel I have stayed in for last 12 months.Service and food was excellent. Only criticism no air conditioning in room but could open door into gardens which helped airflow.Great place.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Scarborough

Very good

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very good clean and relaxing
5 out of 5
by Megan from Wrexham

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay ! Very welcoming staff, informed us where all of the facilities were on arrival. The room was beautiful and comfy.