Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Clean, staff were pleasant, good breakfast and a shower/bath in the room!
Cons: Nothing can be improved. Very relaxing stay.
Great hotel to stay in. Make sure you book this hotel rather than the Hallmark Inn just up the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancs

1 night stay

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Really nice hotel, checked in and got our room upgraded to a four poster. Really spacious and comfortable will be returning later this year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to railway station.

Posted Feb 24, 2017
1st time in Chester everything was perfect from hotel to walking on the walls& river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely and full of character

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The character features are maintained while everything looks fresh.
Cons: In my room I had to unplug the kettle in order to watch tv, and vice versa. Easily done, once I figure it out.
The hotel is centrally located, right across from the train station. It is full of character and beautifully kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Beautiful decor, room cleanliness could have been better, restaurants closed until very late, no facilities for kids . Room was lovely, hotel very beautiful but £15 a night parking is absolutely extortionate. Breakfast was lovely, staff were also. Reception staff a little stuck up unless you come in a posh car and throw money at them. Will stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Nice hotel great location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Good hotel located in the centre of Chester. Clean and adequate rooms. Staff were friendly. The only downside was being charged £15 for 24 hours on the car park!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reading

Great

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Every aspect of this hotel is fabulous close to train and bus stations, close to Chester
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice public areas but tired rooms

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are pretty tired. Luke warm shower and a blocked sink so not great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with lots of nice touches to make it

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with lots of history. Friendly staff. Amazing breakfast with live music! Nice quiet room with a very comfortable bed. Only downside was parking was tricky as there are limited spaces.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Nice hotel, however the rooms are not a 4*

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Only stayed for one night so we didn't use any facilities. Lovely communal areas, however our room was not what I was expecting from a 4* hotel. Very tired looking, basic facilities within the room. Generally in need of a refurb.