Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

40th Birthday on Bonfire night

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Décor in the rooms
Clean large room with a TV, tea and coffee and bathroom with shower over the bath. Hotel was convenient for my purpose. Rooms a bit tired and need updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Nice hotel, very friendly staff. Stayed in the Thelwall suite with canopy bed and corner bath/shower. Guess this was the only difference to a normal room, and probably not worth the extra cost. Room clean, bed very comfortable. Room very warm though, although fans available, and shower not the best, low pressure. Buffet breakfast good and overall stay good although we only stayed for one night and didnt use any other hotel facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnley

one night stay for an 80th birthday

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: it did its job for a one night stay close to our destination
Cons: A towel heater
Location: near Warrington for shopping and the pleasant Walton gardens
hotel good ---- b/fast ok but buffet not continually overseen for empty containers--b/f room a bit cool for me but I now tend to feel the cold more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Quiet location, easy to find. Room clean, bed comfortable but beginning to get a bit worn. Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel used for party. Disco and noise was very bad

Posted Dec 24, 2015
there was a party at the hotel and the Disco didn't finish until gone 12:15! So much for a peaceful evening and a comfortable stay. I guess I won't be going back and I certainly won't be recommending this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to town

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: It was close to the town centre but far enough away to feel you were not with the crowds
Cons: Maybe a small fridge in the room or at least an ice machine
Location: We were here for a funeral so did not get to see to much
Really enjoyed our stay the rooms were very clean and the staff very accomodating. Breakfast was excellent and the food at the bar also.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel except ....

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: Absolutely need to sort the shower issue
Hotel is fine , except they have had shower-heads installed to meet some green criteria ; absolutely terrible shower because of this . Lord help you if you have long hair! If you lived on the top floor of a block of flats , and everyone was in the bathroom at the same time - that would still be a power shower compared with this!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value but needs more upkeep

Posted May 9, 2013
The hotel was good value and the breakfast good, but there was a definite need for some maintenance. For example the toilet/bathroom door would not shut. No other major issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Excellent value for money. Room very clean and well decorated. Staff efficient and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

cold plates

Posted Oct 2, 2009
Although the breakfast food was excellantly cooked the plates were cold, a waste of the chef's time and expertise preparing hot food when it is going to congeal on your plate before you finish, even pointing this out to the staff did not produce a marked improvement the next day. May I suggest that the staff visit an Indian restaurant where the plates remain hot for the duration of the meal. My room was also cold, there were no blankets or secondary heating, was given an additional duvet.