Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent

Ok hotel close to town

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The better quality room we were moved into plus very kind staff. Housekeeping moved our cases for us in the move also which was appreciated.
Cons: Baths in standard rooms were not suitable for older people but due to smallness of bathrooms I could not envisage a solution to the problem.
Location: Very convenient for town and good choice of restaurants close by also. Very close to railway station also.
Booked standard twin room which was small but ok. Bathroom small again and access to bath/shower was virtually impossible for my husband - 80 years old and in danger of falling trying to get in. Spoke to Toni at reception who promised a better room the following day. She came up trumps and moved us to a double room with bath/shower with easy access. Very much appreciated. Also Jay another receptionist was very obliging sorting out the televisions in both rooms for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted May 22, 2017
Needs updating not worth the £129 we paid per room. The only nice thing about the hotel was the staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derby

Ok hotel, served its purpose

Posted May 15, 2017
Not entirely sure why our receipts were for one night, but charged twice! It was the correct charge but seems odd, only asked for one transaction but reception staff put it through twice??? Room dated, shower room grim public areas all clean and tidy, and hotel has some beautiful stain glass windows but the rooms were a bit grim! Not worth the £250 for two nights, even on race weekend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful from the outside but needs modernising

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Hotel was very pretty from outside 1p minutes walk to the east city walls and the high street. On first look it looked clean if a little tatty and old bur that's charm in an old building. However we found a wood louse, dusty tv and someone had left underwear in the drawers! Made me feel unclean clearly the cleanera dont have that check. No toilet roll or tea provided but that was easily rectified when we asked. Staff were lovely very friendly and helpful. Shame about the cleanliness. If you do stay in suggest using the NCP parking round the corner as it's £6.50 for 24 hours the hotel doesn't have parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Chester town centre

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Cons: Look at the above
Nice hotel housekeeping could have been improved i.e. Tea coffee, it was a little noisey street noise and hotel noise overhead, staff were very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Stayed 2 nights hotel lovely staff (ALL amazing ) will definatly be back best hotel in Chester, I stay in Chester every mth couple of days this is the best I've stayed in (and believe me I've stayed in most hotels in Chester ) the staff are brilliant can't do enough for you looking forward to returning very soon thankyou for making our stay so relaxing reception staff ALL THE BEST they work so so hard thankyou all again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

staying at this hotel was appalling

Posted Mar 12, 2017
We were woken up at 2am from other guests which was appalling but also the main light came on. This woke me up with a startled from the noise and light it really unsettled myself that I couldn't sleep again the room also wasn't particularly clean with dust and cobwebs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel but bit noisey .

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Only stayed one night the shower needs up dating and new shower rail room was cold when we arrived we did turn on took a while warming up . But did the job comfy beds but leave more tea bags 2 not enough I would go again but not a long stay .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Cheap accommodation chosen for a night out in Chester with friends. My room had no shower, just a bath. My friends rooms did have showers. The bed was comfortable enough but end up with bed bug bites all over my left knee so not sure about the overall cleanliness.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We didn't stay in the end!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
We booked a double room, on arrival we checked in and the receptionist gave us the key to our room. When we got in there were 2 single beds, so we come back down stairs and the receptionist then gave us a different room. Off we went back up 2 flights of stairs to find the room exactly the same..... 2 twin beds. Back downstairs we went and the receptionist told us they don't have double beds and the maids had forgot to push the beds together. We then got a key for a 3rd room. So back up the stairs down the corridor that stunk of week. Opened the door to find a couple on the bed!!!!! Totally embarrassed, marched down stairs and she said the best she could do is push the beds together. They don't have double beds. We had friends staying that night that had checked in to a proper double bed room. Not just 2 singles pushed together!