Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham

City centre hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Excellent location,quick & easy check in & check out,room available earlier than stated,large twin room with easy access to shower in large bathroom though a fair walk from lift,very good breakfast,would certainly stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Great location, some rude staff

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and hotel facilities were very good.
Cons: The bathroom could have been cleaned better, hairs were found in the bath and on top of the cistern, not a very good welcome! Disappointing.
Location: Great location, right in the city centre. Very convenient for visiting the city, shopping, wine and dine.
Great location, just in the city centre which is great to visit the city, wine and dine or shopping. The bed itself was really comfortable and the bedding fresh and clean. The ley out of the room was just great, very spacious. Coffee and tea facilities were brilliant and no problem when asking for extra milk. Fantastic breakfast, nice variety. Wine list prices far too pricy for our budget I am afraid, we would have loved to be able to have a glass of wine but at £12 per glass?? Sadly, our experience was dampen right at the end during checking out. We try to explain to the receptionist how our reservation included free parking and she was not interested in hearing us out, although I have prove of reservation where it clearly states: Double room with breakfast and free parking! She wouldn't wait for me to show her any reservation sleep and quite rudely put the bill for parking (£9) to pay there and then. Practically called us liars. Very disappointing as that was the only reason we went by car, we would have travelled by train otherwise. Very misleading information, not impressed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
City centre location parking close lovely hotel breakfast ok but would not take this option if I returned again staff very polite and helpful overall very satisfying
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jupeter

Tiny dark room at the bak of the hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Most things to report about this hotel are good. Sadly the most fundamental thing was that the room itself was a tiny, dark little cupboard with a view of a wall about 10 feet away. The hotel is not airconditioned and even on a coolish day, the room was stuffy. Perhaps I was expecting too much for just over a £100 a night. Nonetheless it might be an idea to call and ask what room you could expect from the Expedia rooms.....if they'll let on.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted May 3, 2017
Great location, central and staff very obliging. Access to parking is problematic, more information is required on the website providing precise directions.
4 out of 5
by Shani

Give it a go!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty standard McDonald's hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bridgenorth

ecellent helpful staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Excellent service, close to town cleanliness
Location: Close to cathederal and shops restaurants clubs
Adam at reception so helpful cheerful, we had a lovely stay! Right in town for all shops and restaurants. Dated but in a nice comfortable way! Towels sheets spotless white, room comfortable warm. Would definitely stay again so convenient. Adam ecellent behind reception and the girls friendly. NO noise slept well! Good value for money deffinately reccoment to friends family!
5 out of 5
by Rosemary

Ideal hotel for a weekend in Chester.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is centrally situated and ideal for sightseeing, shopping and socialising. The staff are amazing, so cheerful, helpful and keen to please, breakfast was excellent too. Due to its central location there are some rooms which might suffer from noise, but our room at the back was fine. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Tracy

Lovely central hotel with fabulous staff & service

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
From check-in to check out, the hotel staff were lovely & the service we received was fabulous. Our one night stay was a Birthday treat for my mum & upon arrival we were given a complementary upgrade to a suite and also an early check in, so mum was delighted! The hotel was clean & comfortable (albeit a little tired due to its age) and located right in the centre, just off the main street. The breakfast is also worth a particular mention - served in the bright & airy restaurant, the Full MacDonald was tasty, hearty & plentiful. All in all - we had a lovely stay, excellent value for money & I would recommend without hesitation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff training
Location: See photos
The room was nothing startling, the shower head was fixed so you could not adjust the water temperature without being under it, the flush for the toilet was a bit awkward and the refill was very noisy. The staff were really nice people helpful and friendly but we had a very annoying issue with our meal on the second night, I wanted an early sitting for an early night to get a good rest before a long drive the next day. There was a bit confusion as to what menu we were choosing from so I said we would sit in the bar and they could bring the menu to us, 20 minutes later still no sign of a menu so I went back into the restaurant to be told by the restaurant manager she had been too busy to bring us the menu the bar incidentally is a few feet away and only two couples were in the restaurant I took an hour from our booking time to get our food so much for my early night, we were then offered free drinks to compensate for the problem which I refused and found quite insulting. We skipped breakfast next morning so as to get on the road and avoid traffic so it wasn't until we were into our journey that my wife examined the bill only to find in addition to the meal we had we had been charged for two other meals an additional £50.00 or thereabouts it seemed we had very generously payed for the meals and drinks of the other two couples in the restaurant. I rang the hotel reception and the member of staff after some further confusion told me my card would be refunded, I will be monitoring