Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted May 3, 2017
Great location, central and staff very obliging. Access to parking is problematic, more information is required on the website providing precise directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bridgenorth

ecellent helpful staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Excellent service, close to town cleanliness
Location: Close to cathederal and shops restaurants clubs
Adam at reception so helpful cheerful, we had a lovely stay! Right in town for all shops and restaurants. Dated but in a nice comfortable way! Towels sheets spotless white, room comfortable warm. Would definitely stay again so convenient. Adam ecellent behind reception and the girls friendly. NO noise slept well! Good value for money deffinately reccoment to friends family!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff training
Location: See photos
The room was nothing startling, the shower head was fixed so you could not adjust the water temperature without being under it, the flush for the toilet was a bit awkward and the refill was very noisy. The staff were really nice people helpful and friendly but we had a very annoying issue with our meal on the second night, I wanted an early sitting for an early night to get a good rest before a long drive the next day. There was a bit confusion as to what menu we were choosing from so I said we would sit in the bar and they could bring the menu to us, 20 minutes later still no sign of a menu so I went back into the restaurant to be told by the restaurant manager she had been too busy to bring us the menu the bar incidentally is a few feet away and only two couples were in the restaurant I took an hour from our booking time to get our food so much for my early night, we were then offered free drinks to compensate for the problem which I refused and found quite insulting. We skipped breakfast next morning so as to get on the road and avoid traffic so it wasn't until we were into our journey that my wife examined the bill only to find in addition to the meal we had we had been charged for two other meals an additional £50.00 or thereabouts it seemed we had very generously payed for the meals and drinks of the other two couples in the restaurant. I rang the hotel reception and the member of staff after some further confusion told me my card would be refunded, I will be monitoring
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but bad odour

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Location, check in staff
Cons: Bathroom, breakfast, car parking charges.
Hotel and check in staff were genuinely nice, however we had a problem with the smell of the standing water in the bathroom. Breakfast could have been better as some elements of the hot cooked breakfast were cold and they forgot to bring toast - they were just inexperienced. The check in staff on arrival were very polite and helpful. I also thought it would be a nice touch if they could cover more of the cost of car parking at the Grosvenor Car Park.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

City Centre Chester

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great location, really great staff, hotel a little dark and tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Pleasant hotel in the town centre

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The staff, the comfort and its location
Cons: The decor is a little dated
Location: It is just outside the city wall and withing very easy walking distance of all of the major attractions of Chester town centre
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found a problem with the room and it was dealt with very acceptably in a very prompt and professional manner. The hotel was very nice and the restaurant was attractive and reasonable. Overall it is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Good hotel, great location

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: the location, close to the main shops and other facilities
Cons: The bathroom was compact to say the least, there was a glass shower screen over the bath which made it difficult to get in and out of the bath
Location: great for shopping and sightseeing
the check in was quick and easy and the reception staff were very helpful. The restaurant staff were polite and gave excellent service throughout the evening meal. Breakfast was average on the first morning but it improved greatly on the second morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Very clean hotel, friendly staff.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Overall, a wonderful hotel in a brilliant location, I would definitely stay again. The room has all the basic amenities that you could need during your stay, ironing board, kettle etc. However, we did have a slight issue with the window in our room but definitely didnt spoil the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

Great location to walk around Chester.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Staff was very kind and helpful. The amenities were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Good clean hotel expensive bar polite staff helpfull staff