Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to usual Mercure standard

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: conveniently located
Cons: Almost everything to bring the up from its "sub Ibis standard" to that one expects of a Mercure
After a 5 hour drive we were very surprised to discover that at 21.05 hrs the kitchen was closed ( at 21,00hrs); there was no Bar food or any form of Room service, despite the welcome leaflet offering the" Restaurant until 21.30 hrs, selection of bar food and limited food items 24 hours a day." Sadly the staff appeared unconcerned about this. The room furnishings were extremely basic and the bathroom in disrepair with back fungus around the bath edge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all

Posted Mar 26, 2017
The room was filthy, the hallways stank of cigarettes, the curtains were hanging off the rail, the bed literally moved from side to side every time I turned over, and they charged me twice for the room!!! ... the list goes on. Would never book again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great staff! Hotel itself could do with sprucing up a bit (painting etc). Rooms nice enough.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with nice staff . Only problem was expensive breakfast which should of been included with the price of the room .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need some a lot of tlc deffo not worth the money.

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a superior room. The room I was given looked nothing like the one on the pictures. It was just a normal size room. Description said air con. There was no air con just a broken radiator that wouldn't turn off. It says sky tv channels. Only has free view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and staff needs double glazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Desperately in need of refurbishmental. Staff excellent but hotel tired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good all round hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
It was a nice relaxing room we had hotel was very good would go back ,in good location to get in to chester and cheshire oaks
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay , could benefit from a bit of TLC

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice staff , friendly at all times . Hotel is ok , - little tired perhaps or maybe that was just our room that had that feel , but comfy room. Additional £13 pp for breakfast each would mean over 100 for the night which I would say was not amazing value for money , but a cheap alternative to city centre Chester . Good for a single night stay , only thing for future visitors , bear in mind the bar is 24 hrs so rooms by the bar get passing traffic ! Should say thanks to staff for arranging early check in- service here was fantastic .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leeds

Working in malpas convenient

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Room233 noise from air con outside moved to room 222 radiators dripped banged all night 3days no sleep never again