Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Stayed here a few days ago with family only for one night, as we were all going to a track day at Oulton Park the following day. Cannot fault this hotel, it is stunning. Great location, only a mile away from Oulton park, and about half an hour from Cheshire Oaks. All staff members are very friendly and accomdating. The barman Charlie made our night with his humour. Bar runs for 24 hrs we were told. Breakfast was great, as we all had an early start - served from half 7 till 10. Full selection of choice, from full english to continental and cereals. Toast and hot drinks asked if we would like more continously by staff. Rooms are very clean and have everything you would need in them for a short break away. The only thing I would fault is the shower kept switching from hot to cold in our room. Had a walk round the grounds and they are beautiful, the hotel is situated in an old quarry with a lake around it - where activities happen. Very scenic, perfect location for a wedding. A very idyllic rural hotel, thoroughly enjoyed my stay here - will be booking again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

One night stay celebrating anniversary.

Posted May 13, 2017
Cons: Staff seemed to lack familiarity with the bar and restaurant, but the food was excellent!
Checked in on time, room changed to a double bed with no fuss ( only twin rooms available when booked ). Room was a large executive, very comfortable, however the bathroom was a little bit tired. We have stayed here several times previously and always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel and the walks round the gardens,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spain

Mixed feelings

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bar staff training. Make sure food and drink prices are provided ahead of ordering. Don't run out of (hopefully more affordable) house wine.
Location: We were en route to Yorkshire so can't comment.
Our room was fine, the bed was comfortable. We had a bar meal as we were told the restaurant was fully booked though, on a Monday, it didn't seem to be busy. We ordered 2 glasses of wine then the barman persuaded us to make it a bottle before telling us they were completely out of house wine. We weren't shown a menu with prices but ordered a Rioja on his recommendation. We were shocked when the bill came - £28.50! Do not like being duped/ripped off. Mentioned this at check out and was told the Manager would get in touch with us. He/she hasn't which is disappointing. Beware the over friendly barman! Might have considered staying again but not now.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious treat

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Detail to attention by all staff was excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury night away

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
A fabulous night at Nunsmere, with excellent food. A cosy bar with fire that was lovely in the snow. Bedroom was fabulous it the duvet was a bit heavy so a little too warm. Some new technology caused an admin problem with the bill but it did not mar the experience.
4 out of 5
by joanna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great but found the price of a pudding (£7.50) for a creme Brulee as part of a bar snack (£6.50) for salmon sandwiches (more reasonable bar food)? Excessive. Otherwise, the surroundings, location and room quality wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Northampton

An excellent stay

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
A business trip, the staff were always polite and helpful, the hotel was as you would expect, and gardens even in the winter were lovely to wander around. The food was fresh and well cooked....what more really could you ask for.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Lake Vinuela

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service, excellent food..... A great stay. Will definitely stay again when in the area.