Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel close to centre and attractions

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Excellent location close to shops and restaurants. Short walk to Chester Cathedral. Pleasant rooms fairly good facilities. Helpful staff.
Location: Close to all tourist attractions, Cathedral, riverside, and close to racecourse.
A pleasant boutique Hotel within short walk of Chester city centre and the main tourist attractions. Friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very comfortable stay, albeit a little crazy on race days! Excellent room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Comfort close to city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Arrived around midnight and was able to use the underground car park without problem. Was upgraded which was a nice touch - shame I did not have time to enjoy it. Room was very spacious with a balcony towards the old military barracks. Close to a big roundabout but no noise. You can walk to Lower Bridge Street and the heart of old Chester in 3 or 4 minutes. Also bang next to the race course and river. Shall use again on future visits.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Fading gem

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I've been coming here for years for business but don't think I will be back. Room cleanliness is now poor, breakfast takes an hour and standards have dropped. Moving from fine dining on top floor to dubious gin bar has topped it off.
5 out of 5
by Stewart

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is my 3rd stay, 1st class as always
4 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carl

Excellent

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Everything good
4 out of 5
by Gary from Liverpool

Quick Stay....

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and only a short distance from both the Racecourse and City Centre. lovely room, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and tasty with staff again very attentive with nothing too much trouble.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Ideal location

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Location and was clean
Cons: Mini Fridge in the rooms
Location: Racecourse walking distance
The Air Conditioning wasn't working and expected a fridge in the room for the price we paid. The reception tried to charge me for two days breakfast and two days car park when we only had one breakfast and NO car.
4 out of 5
by Roger

Nice hotel but a bit pricey

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
A nice hotel and great location. For the price you would expect breakfast included. Also could do with a mini-bar fridge in the room too