Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Never to return

Posted Oct 26, 2017
From the from front as you arrive it looks like an old people’s home. The room was a good size. It was a TERRIBLE mattress rolled together and when we lifted it up to put a blanket under to help stop this we was shocked at the state of the mattress I have never seen anything like it. I think the homeless have a better one! Don’t think we should of paid the price we did. When I mentioned it to the reception they said they would pass the message on. But I have my doubts anything will be done. The kids bunk hadn’t got a guard at the top bunk so we put the mattress on the floor so we didn’t get an accident. The floor boards creaked so loud and the walls was paper thin. The pool was fine and the meal we had was lovely but expensive. We are shocked that this is a four star hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gwent

Nice hotel close to town and zoo

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very nice ant everything we wanted, close enough to everything but also in a quite location.
2 out of 5
by Carolyn

AVOID- THIS IS NOT A 4*HOTEL, not relaxing hol !

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival at hotel, receptionist was eating ! She checked us in explained we were on 2nd floor but no offer was made to help with luggage, no obvious lift. Initially on entering room we were surprised to find a Db and SB when I had requested Db & 2xSB .Duvet was way too small for cover . This attic bedroom had ceiling beams,hanging from which were multiple cobwebs,behind armchair was an even bigger one! Daughter's terrified of spiders .Layer of dust on crockery and carpet edges unbelievable ! When I complained about room cleanliness , offered a different room that had Db & 2xsb !Why wasn't this room offered first to fulfill original booking? This room initially appeared cleaner, however we later discovered 1 cup cracked, 1 chipped & 1 dirty . We had a slow draining waste on sink, electrics well passed testing date , electric fan filthy, bedside light needed new bulb, daughter was bitten by bedbugs ! Late night disturbance from Staff using smoking area under our room windows. Spa and pool acceptable , although they did have debate as to whether they had sufficient towels to supply us ! No security on lockers unless u took yr own padlock. Breakfast was good , variant on service provided over the 3 mornings , waiter Tues & Thurs was brilliant . Tea / coffee served from conference flasks on wed & it was tepid , had to ask staff to change ! Expected so much better service , cleanliness from expensive hotel , stayed on campsites with cleaner facilities .Decor dated
1 out of 5
by Matthew

looked like a motel 6

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Uncomfortable bed, no fan or ac, itchy sheets, thin walls, desk attendant didn't know anything about the hotel and tried to double charge me. There was no water pressure in the shower and it barely stayed warm. Definitely not worth it for the price.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from witham

great hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
first class
4 out of 5
by Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by KEVIN

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
nice hotel ample parking and staff very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire

Nice hotel close to Chester town and zoo

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff relaxed atmosphere .
Booked this hotel to visit the town and to take the grandchildren to the zoo they had a great time in the pool .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Out of town hotel with good leisure suite.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The leisure suite was excellent. The dining area was roomy and comfortable and the evening menu was good. Nice comfortable bed.
Cons: Furniture in the rooms was poor quality. The cooked breakfast was disappointing - hard bacon & hash browns.
Location: Nice location provided that you have a car. Chester and its surroundings is packed with lots of sightseeing & activities for all the family.
The hotel is comfortable with good facilities but very expensive and breakfast was not included which was unreasonable given that the hotel is well out of town with no nearby alternative. The rooms are comfortable but I would have expected better for the price. Nice quiet location with lots of space for parking but I didn't have a car & the bus service is poor with no service on Sunday.