Ratings based on 873 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Augustine, Fl

Nice, clean, affordable hotel conveniently located

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Clean, affordable, and cozy.
Location: This Chester hotel is conveniently located close by to Ft Lee military base, Colonial Heights, and Petersburg.
This Chester hotel is conveniently located close by to Ft Lee military base, Colonial Heights, and Petersburg. It is very affordable, clean, and comfortable. I routinely stay here while visiting my son who is stationed nearby. The front desk clerk is always very kind and helpful. They have a nice little breakfast set up and fresh cookies all day at the front desk. I recommend this hotel for a nice stay:-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

review of hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Internet
Cons: get rid of chemical fragrances
You should discontinue whatever it is that you are using in the room when you clean the carpet. The chemical artificial smell was horrible and if I hadn't prepaid for this hotel I would have checked out. Not only are these chemical cleaners toxic but they are horrible smelling. If the room is nonsmoking what does it need this type of overbearing fragrance?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by cj, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room . We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attend a graduation

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It was a quiet stay and close to the interstate. I don't have any other comments than that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: room was nice
Cons: Breakfast most defiantly.
Location: I love that a lot of restaurant's are in walking distance.
It is a nice hotel even though they are going through renovation's right now. The breakfast was the only downside. Only one toaster worked, could have had more food to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Very friendly staff , quick check in . The building was undergoing a renovation but was still clean & the rooms were very comfortable & updated. Breakfast options were plentiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel. Ear highway

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Problem was room had a musty smell, knob broken off of A/C. When presented to mgmt, no accommodations were made
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Ongoing renovations

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Easy check-in, clean and comfortable room with food nearby. Fine stop for travelers who are passing through. The entire hotel is in the midst of renovations which I think is a good thing. Progress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel convenient to Rt 95

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very good room but hotel was conducting renovations during my visit.
2 out of 5
by Lynell

Unable to check in

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Unable to check front desk person said we could not check because it was a slumber party
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. . We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by Richard

Poor hotel choice.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Room was spacious, but had ants. Sheets and bedspread were stained with what looked like wing sauce. Front desk staff did not seem too concerned about ants. "Thank you for bringing this to our attention" was all the response I got. Pull-out sofa was very uncomfortable. Wold not go back there
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room . We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.