Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice hotel in city centre

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: In city centre handy for shopping etc.
Cons: No complaints at all.
Location: Central location near to all shops and amenities
Stayed for weekend and very pleased with food and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: It’s location to the city centre. A car park was fabulous.
Location: Chester cathedral, the main shopping area, the Chester walls were all a very short walk from the hotel.
The hotel was so close to the city centre. The staff were excellent and always willing to help in any way possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Location, bar and restaurant, staff
Location: 1 minute walk to the city centre, lots of shops, bars and restaurants.
Great location, so close to the city centre. Nice hotel. A little noisy - a consequence of being in the centre!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southport

Perfect location for shopping

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping. Eating. Art galleries
Pleasant and relaxed. Combined a visit to grandchildren at university with a shopping break. Evening meal and breakfast both good quality and lots of choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Ideally located

Posted Sep 14, 2017
My partner and I stayed for one night. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quiet and is ideally located for motorways and a few minutes walk from Watergate St. The rooms are ok, (more milk/tea/coffee needed, had to go get more) for what you'd expect. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is buffet style and we really enjoyed it. The pool/health suite area was the main reason we booked hotel. Need more poolside seating/lounges.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good Location

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitudes
Location: Close to river dee and racecourse as well as being 2 minutes from the shops and bars/restaurants on watergate street.
Great location for the town and in particular the racecourse (less than 5 minutes walk) Upon arrival greeted by a very dowdy receptionist, we were early (around 1pm), was aware check in was 3pm, but just wanted to check about the car park (they charge £10 a day) and if they needed our reg number. Asked if our rooms were ready and was told yes, but as we were early there is a charge of £25 !!! As we only wanted to put our bags in the room we declined this and left our bags in the car whilst we went for lunch and a walk down the river. On our return around 5pm, we were greeted by a lovely bubbly lady on reception who checked us in and filled us with plenary of detail on both the hotel and the town. Only other complaint was with getting special orders at breakfast, which on the whole was lovely, but my wife asked for poached eggs which we were told was no problem, unfortunately despite constantly asking they arrived just as we were leaving after finishing breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Convenient location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Visited recently for a couple of days for my boyfriends birthday. Check in was painless, staff were very friendly and polite. Room was lovely, although the eaves of the roof made the room feel a little oppressive. Lots of little touches, sleep spray, bottled water, chocolates, sewing kit, shower cap and shoes, vanity kit all complimentary. Would we stay here again? Yes definitely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Lovely hotel close to racecourse.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness and the food was good. Staff very polite and helpful.
Cons: There was no in room safe.
Location: Great location for Chester racecourse, and town centre.
We had a weekend stay here as we were going to the racecourse for Ladies day. Stayed in room with breakfast included. Very comfortable spacious room. Bed very comfortable. Very clean. Really good choice buffet breakfast. All staff extremely helpful and pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Piles of dirty linen in corridors.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Generally this hotel had a lack of concern for the details that raise a hotel above 3-star standard. Bathroom was not properly cleaned. Needs better leadership and a sense of hospitality. Piles of dirty linen in the corridors throughout the day, staff hollering at each other accross the coffee lounge, no greeting when entering the spa, dirty and ummaintained changing facilities. They lost revenue on several occasions because I couldn't locate staff to get what I wanted. i had the sense of the standards of a budget hotel, not a crowne plaza. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Chester is lovely

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: The rooms, the large bar
Cons: The car parking was hopelessly inadequate especially for a hotel built on top of a car park!
Location: Chester is a lovely place. Well worth doing the walking tour from outside the town hall and the local restaurants were great.
Chester is a lovely historic city. The hotel is a bit odd as it's modern and built on top of a car park, a bit of an eyesore from the outside. Inside is great, the rooms are nice, relatively large and very comfortable. Ironically there was no space in the car park which seems to be a perennial problem, nearly every time we went past the car park there were people being told there was no space. However we parked around the corner in the Market car park and that probably worked out cheaper (I really don't like hotels that charge me for parking when I'm staying there anyway). Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would recommend to anyone.