Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Overall excellent standard as were part of a wedding party, brilliant service provided by the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Pleasant atmosphere

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Very comfortable room and dining area very spacious with a good atmosphere
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We picked this hotel because it look stunning from the photos, its location for chester and the zoo, the staff were very good but once we got to the room we found it was very small. The bed was possibly the hardest i have every slept on and the pillows full of fresh air. This is also the first hotel we have stayed in that we would have had to pay extra to use the pool! Whats that about. Breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good Quality

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Clean comfortable, helpful staff, nice atmosphere , good food. Good value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
We thought the hotel was nice with good food and service although quite expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again, should you be in the area Warmest Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Overnight

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Spa facilities
Cons: Unfortunately there was building work whist we were there so not so tranquil
Location: Very close to Chester which is a beautiful place
We have stayed at the Hotel before and have never been disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Wedding guest

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Reception staff were really friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - overpriced for what you get.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
2 nights spent here, unfortunately we didn't get to really see the hotel as we were out most of the time. Things have changed obviously & where it looks like the spa & fitness facilities were available previously - they now have to be paid for. The lines were very professionally scored out with a black permanent marker in the guest booklet!!! Bed very noisy, perhaps should think about changing them??
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lytham st annes

Good hotel, excellent location.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff, bedroom,food.
Cons: Disappointed at the extra charge to use the gym. Would have appreciated complimentary newspaper. Preferred breakfast in other restaurant.
Second time we've stayed, attending a family christening. Daughter lives in Helsby and is a GP 5 mins from the Double Tree.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Swerve it for a while

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
A bit tired in parts, major construction going on right now too