Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merseyside

Gorgeous hotel, food was lovely and staff great,

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Location and standard were excellent
Location: Brilliant location, very easy parking and everything in Chester Within within walking distance
Lovely short stay in a fab hotel with friends Location and standard were excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback given. Your kind words will be given to the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Nice hotel just minutes from town and the Rows

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Hotel was easy to find and very close to everything. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they gave us tea while we waited and we had an enjoyable stay altogether, visiting the Rows of Chester and having a grand walk around town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 4 star review. You kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We really do have a great location enabling our guests to explore the city fully. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Rather dated hotel in excellent position

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The position and helpful staff
Pleasant staff. Room 311 television around the corner from the beds. No chair at dressing table. Only shampoo and shower stuff for one person when 2 people occupying room. We did have another set of towels delivered as there again were towels just for one person. No bin in bathroom and no face tissues in box. Tea tray positioned where kettle lead couldn’t reach plug. Barman informed us that new Christmas Cocktail menu wasn’t available yet as the ingredients had not yet arrived. It was 20th December! On a more positive note the hotel was in an excellent position in Chester town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I will be checking the room personally as all rooms should have a chair at the dressing table and sincerely apologise for this. We offer a range of toiletries in all rooms, with bottles suitable for two guests, however we are always happy to supply more on request. I have also checked every room personally and every room contains a bedroom bin and a bathroom bin. I really hope that this stay has not deterred you from returning in the future as would love to provide you with the true experience we have to offer at Macdonald New Blossoms. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Excellent hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Couldn’t fault this hotel in any way
Highly recommended hotel right in the centre of Chester. We had a fabulous stay for a weekend shopping trip. Well decorated hotel with large comfortable rooms and the most helpful friendly staff. Will definitely visit Chester and this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 5 star review. You kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent.

A night away.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: We liked that it is close to everything.
Cons: I dont know what could be improved.
Location: It is close to the river and there are lots of bars down there.
This is a hotel in the center of chester. It is good for shopping because it is close to the shops. The staff are pleasent and helpful. The room was quite big and had views of the side of chester. we did not eat here so we dont know what the food is like.
3 out of 5
by Susan

What a disappointment.

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is lovely and a superb location. We were meant to have a city view but the window was so high you could only see the sky. (See photo) The first morning the shower was cold. This was discussed with reception later that morning and volume of numbers if guests was mentioned but surely if this is an issue, electric showers could be installed, maintenance sorted out but not very pleasant to have a cold shower. We did get a bottle of fizz to say sorry. The main issue was the breakfast experience. When our full English arrived on the first morning the poached eggs were rock hard and the rest of the food was tepid so we sent it back. The second one breakfast was ok but nothing special and the restaurant manager gave us quite a nasty look. The following morning was just as bad, couldn't get toast right and had to ask for it 3 times. Due to location would stay again but room only.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to main shopping streets

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
Good service for breakfast, but sometimes slow to warm up in the morning. Opening at 7 and have noticed being served by nearly 7.20.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old world hotel in city centre

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal for shopping and for walking from the station
Cons: Sound proofing!!! No hotel informaion within the bedroom at all.
Ok hotel which is fantastic for the city centre BUT has limited sound proofing so as it is very central it picks up all the noise of people on their nights out.! I think I finally managed to get some sleep after 4.30am! (and I did ask for a quiet room, but as ours was directly overlooking the main street I assume that this wasn't their quietest!
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room above a night club so could've hear music at 1am. Bathroom was so tiny. Couldn't move past the sink. Unfriendly service on arrival.
4 out of 5
by T Carey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels