Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2018
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Formby

Chester races

Posted May 16, 2018
Excellent position for the races and city. Inexpensive rooms, good dining and bar service. All you need for a couple of nights visiting Chester.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us during the May festival. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Situated next to the Eastgate Clock, this hotel is one of the oldest in England (est 1650) and incorporates modern amenities seamlessly into this historical building. Plus it is close to all the attractions/things to do in Chester. Amazing staff! I've always had a good experience/stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments. These will be fed back to the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Room o.k....bin had not been emptied from previous guest. Red door club right under hotel. My room at back allowed me the unique privilege of listening to the bass beats at 23.30 at night. Would not have booked if I had known. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am rather disapointed to hear about the poor housekeeping and will discuss this with the team, please accept my apologies for this. I really hope this hasn't deterred you from returning to the hotel in the near future. Once again please accept my apologies. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Lovely hotel, clean, lovely staff and very central
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and will feed your comments back to the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chester soon! Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Centrally located easy for shopping and sightseeing
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you were able to explore our wonderful city fully. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chester in the near future. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oasis of calm

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Pros: Staff and the general atmosphere
Cons: All good to me
Location: It's Chester.explore!
Loved the place.staff were all lovely .room was spotless and I couldn't believe how peaceful and quiet it was .definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your kind words. These will be passed to the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Chester stay.

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Very good central hotel but no car park and ended up costing £18 for a two night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I really do appreciate the feedback and the 4 star rating. Unfortunately we do not offer car parking however the discount we offer is very competitive with a near by car parking costing £20 per night. I really hope this hasn't deterred you from returning in the future and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Pros: Good location and friendly staff
Cons: More space in the rooms!
Location: Walking distance to all major attractions in Chester city centre
Good hotel and very friendly staff. I found the room slightly cramped for space, especially the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate the four star rating. It is great to hear you were able to explore the city fully, we really are lucky to be based in the heart of Chester. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare

Posted Mar 25, 2018
This hotel is the place to stay if you want to be kept awake until 4am. There is a nightclub underneath the hotel which means that if your staying on the first floor you’re not be getting any sleep! When I spoke with reception their response was ‘what do u expect for a city centre hotel’ which I find quite shocking. Really poor and not worth the money! I wouldn’t recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by the bar below the hotel, I would have hoped the secondary glazing would have reduced the noise. I am in constant communication with the owners, authorities and council in the hope to reduce the disruption. I have also updated your profile to ensure that in the future we allocate you a room well away from any potential noise. Once again please accept my sincere apologies. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager