Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Rather dated hotel in excellent position

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The position and helpful staff
Pleasant staff. Room 311 television around the corner from the beds. No chair at dressing table. Only shampoo and shower stuff for one person when 2 people occupying room. We did have another set of towels delivered as there again were towels just for one person. No bin in bathroom and no face tissues in box. Tea tray positioned where kettle lead couldn’t reach plug. Barman informed us that new Christmas Cocktail menu wasn’t available yet as the ingredients had not yet arrived. It was 20th December! On a more positive note the hotel was in an excellent position in Chester town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I will be checking the room personally as all rooms should have a chair at the dressing table and sincerely apologise for this. We offer a range of toiletries in all rooms, with bottles suitable for two guests, however we are always happy to supply more on request. I have also checked every room personally and every room contains a bedroom bin and a bathroom bin. I really hope that this stay has not deterred you from returning in the future as would love to provide you with the true experience we have to offer at Macdonald New Blossoms. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Excellent hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Couldn’t fault this hotel in any way
Highly recommended hotel right in the centre of Chester. We had a fabulous stay for a weekend shopping trip. Well decorated hotel with large comfortable rooms and the most helpful friendly staff. Will definitely visit Chester and this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2018 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Macdonald New Blossoms. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 5 star review. You kind words will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Steven Hayes General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke on trent.

A night away.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: We liked that it is close to everything.
Cons: I dont know what could be improved.
Location: It is close to the river and there are lots of bars down there.
This is a hotel in the center of chester. It is good for shopping because it is close to the shops. The staff are pleasent and helpful. The room was quite big and had views of the side of chester. we did not eat here so we dont know what the food is like.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old world hotel in city centre

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location was ideal for shopping and for walking from the station
Cons: Sound proofing!!! No hotel informaion within the bedroom at all.
Ok hotel which is fantastic for the city centre BUT has limited sound proofing so as it is very central it picks up all the noise of people on their nights out.! I think I finally managed to get some sleep after 4.30am! (and I did ask for a quiet room, but as ours was directly overlooking the main street I assume that this wasn't their quietest!
5 out of 5
by Alan Derbyshire

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by DAVID

Not for the disabled

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is useless for the disabled. The are nine steps to climb before you can gain entrance. The rooms are equipped with showers in a bath. You cannot walk in to shower. This is unacceptable in 2017 in a 4 Star (?) hotel
3 out of 5
by Adina

Not good if you want to sleep

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is lovely great position very central, our only problem was the noise, we were kept awake until 4.10am by extremely loud music and constant emptying of bottles in recycling bin, we came away to have a break and rest and ended up going home exhausted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kings Lynn

Nice hotel poorly run

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Building and facilities
Cons: Sufficient staff and improved training
Location: Very good location in historic city
Poor service in bar and diner Room servicing substandard Only one chair in room for two people Toiletries minute and print to small to read Etc
4 out of 5
by Christine

Central Chester hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very central for Chester and only a 10 minute walk from the train station so a great base.
3 out of 5
by Diarmuid

Good location in Chester

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel in central Chester. Staff were very friendly. Restaurant poor. We had dinner and wouldn't recommend it. Setting nice but food was pretty awful for the class of hotel. Noisy outside at weekends due to nightclub underneath and central location.