Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close enough to the centre

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Facilities
Cons: Breakfast was very manic but they started ll handled that well
Birthday weekend for my partner. Enjoyed the spa facilities and a great location for going to see Chester.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north wales

Relaxed atmosphere, warm on a cold winter night.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
One night for a chilled meal out in Chester together-lovely would definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Public areas crammed and chaotic

Posted Dec 9, 2017
I realise that it was the festive season but the hotel was hosting coachloads on non residents who completely overtook all the public areas. It was noisy, you couldn’t get a seat and everything was very chaotic. The location was excellent and very close to the town and the rooms were nice, but we had paid extra for a superior room and it was smaller than expected. The room was clean except for the bathroom floor but very warm even with the radiator turned off and the window open. We didn’t eat at The Mill so can’t comment on the food. The free car park was an advantage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely stay

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Close to the town the swimming pool and a nice bar.
Cons: The breakfast station it seem a bit cramped.
Location: Walking the wall catching the train to Liverpool and the museums.
Had a nice relaxing stay very good for shopping would definitely stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northampton

excellent

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: very friendly staff and food was excellent
Cons: more tea and coffee and milk to be left in the rooms especially in the winter months
Location: ideal for the centre of chester
ideal position for the Christmas market and for shopping in the centre of chester
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Over night stay

Posted Nov 28, 2017
It was ok for an overnight stay, staff weren’t really bothered or that friendly really. It states free parking but there were no spaces when we arrived so we had to drive around and wait for about 30 mins. The next day you have to be out of the car park when u check out. So we had to park in the city to go shopping. Facilities and food were average. Room was freezing bad draft from the window. Not worth the money that they charge. Overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

2 night break

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Great hotel smack bang in Chester a 3 mom stroll to shops. Had a 3 course meal really reasonable and the staff serving us was outstanding and they also do a cruise on canal which is £22 for a 4 course and prices in bar reasonable as well great hotel carnt fault it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wigan

Well positioned city central hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Everyth8ng
Cons: Noth8ng
Location: Quick walk to town centre, easy access to Chester town centre, great to walk Chester’s walls. The canal cruis3 looked great, definitely a must for nex
Staff were amazing, Tiffany at reception, exceptional. Restaurant staff at both the evening and breakfast were attentive but not intrusive, professional and accommodating. Very well trained to do their jobs to the highest standard with no stressing. Facilities were excellent, looking forward to next visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Disappointing room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The bar / restaurant were very well appointed as well as the gym / swimming pool etc.
Cons: Standard rooms in particular 409 or any similar to this one should be looked at and considered as single rooms. Also the size quality of the beds
Location: Close to Chester centre [ 5 minutes walk]
I booked a standard room following viewing the pictures of the rooms on the internet. On arrival and on entering the room I was very disappointed at the size of the room and bathroom, not as per advertised. To get round the bed you had to walk sideways as the foot of the bed was so close to the wall. The bed was a very small double and rock hard resulting in my wife and I having 2 sleepless nights. We ate both nights in the hotel and the meals served were nice and the overall bar / restaurant facilities were good however breakfast on both mornings were disappointing. The buffet style hot breakfast bar were poor in respect to food particularly cooked eggs were hard and bacon cold. I did mention the above to a member of staff at reception but it was obvious that the individual was uninterested. Disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from peak district

Lovely & close to amenities

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Wonderful stay great for shopping & sightseeing, nice romantic place for couples