Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Cute Victorian

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: It was very convenient to where we were visiting. Old Victorian homes ooze charm.
Cons: I couldn't go to 5 stars on condition but there was nothing that caused a problem, just some deferred maintenance. We were not inconvenienced at all.
Location: Chester is an historical location with many unique buildings from the 1800s.
Suzie was a congenial and accommodating host. Her scones are excellent. They compare very favorably with what we've had in England! Very pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy vs. Clutterd

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Sleep was good. It felt safe.
Cons: Consolidate the guest quarters and eliminate the "walk through rooms". Clean. Thin out the stuff.
Location: Chester is a charming town, with lots of walking distance shops and sites.
Of the three planters by the door, the flowers in on were quite dead. A brochure holder had only dead bugs. Our hostess seemed unprepared for us. The entrance way had a bag of de-icing salt (it was June), and the inner hall was wall to wall, floor to ceiling STUFF, for sale. Items were dirty, themes mixed(Halloween and Christmas as well as other "holidays". The nearly hidden staircase led up, then we went through several equally clustered rooms to ours. The bed filled most of it. The layer of dust on the tiny dresser was visible. The bathroom was back through several rooms, including one with a kitchen sink,looking like it was in use as such.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small town charm

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and extremely comfortable.
Location: There are a few restaurants and cafes in the area and a lot of antique shops. Perfect for a cozy, quiet relaxing trip.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Rose Arbour B&B! The house is old so there are definitely some creaky floorboards and doors that stick, so if you're someone who needs everything to be absolutely perfect this probably isn't the place for you. If, like me, you enjoy the charm of staying in a historic, homey victorian and are more than happy to put up with the little quirks that come along with it, then you'll be very happy here! FYI, the owner has 4 dogs! They were extremely friendly and well-behaved, and are always kept in the owners private quarters, so if you're allergic or deathly afraid of dogs it may not be the place for you. The breakfast was delicious and the dining area is the perfect cozy place to enjoy your morning coffee and apple cinnamon pancakes, lemon creme french toast, or whatever other delicacy the host is serving.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet B&B.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great little B and B near Springfield, VT. My friend and I went up for an art festival and enjoyed our room at Rose Arbor. It was my first time at a B and B. I liked the atmosphere with the huskies, the breakfast nooks, and the owner had her art studio set up. I'm a big fan of Gilmore Girls and it had that Dragonfly Inn in New England vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great quick stay. Staff was very friendly and room was cozy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely home

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
This was an excellent value and a sweet place. Suzanne went out of her way to accommodate our needs, including setting up an air mattress for my son and getting up early to make delicious banana pancakes. Her horse paintings were worth a trip in, just to see. It felt a little more like an air-bnb, with the pups around, etc., but was perfect for what we needed.
5 out of 5
by Jay from Rochester, MN

Reunion accommodations

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable and hospitable.
1 out of 5
by Daniel from Brossard

Deception big time

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
It was my second visit to Chester, in 2015 I stayed across the street at another B&B. The site is a pile up of «stuff» making it a genuine fire trap. Second floor common area at a coffee pot with about 3 days left over and the overall inn is very dusty. Inn taker also as dogs which are great for allergies! Overall dressing code of the inn was ... what it was as I do not expect evening gown but .... Sunday morning we left the key at reception and packed up. Rose Arbour in now on my no no list.
3 out of 5
by Eileen from Bronxville

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice breakfast included in the reasonable rate. Rose Arbor is somewhat past her prime, but comfortable nonetheless. Nice innkeeper and walking location.
4 out of 5
by Marykate

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2016 on Hotels