Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

highly recommended!

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
great pub and great hotel...room was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Hotel , close to all amenities,

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Everything , The room was lush , clean , big and the food was great
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location , great out door things to do
excellent , this was an over night stay for my husbands birthday celebration , The hotel room 9 was gorgeous The staff were friendly and informative
5 out of 5
by spud from Cumbria

Fantastic

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Superb weekend, brilliant hotel and fantastic city. Loads to keep you occupied, bars, shops and racing. Will be back next year
3 out of 5
by Jennifer

Good location, couple of let downs though

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed for business and had booked a room for myself and one for my colleague. One room was perfect the other however had not been cleaned since the previous guests had left - clearly there are not thorough checks to ensure that the rooms are ready for the next guests. The staff members then moved me to a different room and promised a couple of drinks free for the inconvenience (these never did appear). We ate in the pub that evening, a fairly standard menu and the food was quite good. Breakfast selection was ok also but it did seem odd that when served poachd eggs on toast the toast had not been buttered. The location is very convenient for seeing Chester, there are also a few reasonable options for overnight parking within walking distance. If you need an invoice for the stay make sure you gt it before you leave, I asked for it to be emailled and they got it wrong twice before I managed to get an accurate invoice. I have stayed before and had no problems, this time just wasn't the best.
1 out of 5
by Diane

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Room smelt bad. Couldn't move me as they were full although they did try to get rid of the smell. Since I had a front room, there were cars and loud people on the street almost all night and at 3:30 am a car alarm went off and at 7 am, deliveries of barrels (of alcohol? Or something that made a great racket). I cancelled my second stay and went to the Crowne Plaza instead.
5 out of 5
by JOANNE

Great weekend Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night over Easter.What a lovely place to stay. The rooms are modern and very nicely decorated. spotless and comfortable. The pub is old world design and very inviting. The food was very tasty and my husband loved the fact it is home to its own micro brewery, the hidden little gem is the beer garden at the back, lovely place to sit and enjoy the local brew. blankets and heaters provided to keep us warm over our cool summer evenings. our room overlooked the beer garden and i was concerned during the summer it would be noisy but Chester council seem to have a rule no outside drinking after nine oclock so that makes sure you have a peaceful nights sleep. Cant recommend The Pied Bull highly enough. Great central location.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Good clean room.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location, good for couples and families alike.
Location: Central to Chester, shops and restaurants, cathedral nearby too. Easy wali to distance to amenities.
Central hotel, we stayed in the penthouse suite and would recommend. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by dean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very useful having electric radiators you can use when the temperature drops. Very clean and well stocked.