Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

nice hotel comfortable beds

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Quiet rooms
Cons: no need no improving fine place. blah blah
Location: go to Lambton Arms hotel for great food and live band on friday nights
real good golf was a real comfortable place to stay. real lose to Chester La Street parking was a bit dificult get there early
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Loved our room!!
Cons: The food and bar service could be improved.
Lumbley is truly a castle hotel. The themed rooms add to it's appeal. The food was good, but room for improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Excellent themed room and fantastic evening meal

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Really interesting and unique Room, nice atmosphere and setting and really good food.
Location: Beautiful setting and grounds, hard to believe how close it is to the A1(M)
Lovely castle feature room and great evening meal and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Bought as a surprise birthday present

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: We liked the whole experience! The warm friendly staff addressing us by name, the stunning outfits they wore & the gorgeous authentic surroundings.
Cons: Please don't change anything!
Location: Set in stunning surroundings & it is next to a golf course Durham is very close by
I bought the stay for my husband's 50th birthday treat, as I wanted something memorable... & it certainly was! When we went into reception we were greeted by a very friendly lady in medieval costume. She was very efficient & knew our names & made us feel very comfortable. We were directed to our room which was beautifully decorated in a deep green (room number 38) We chose to dine there in the evening & was invited to wait in the bar, where we were given menus & told that we would be called through when our table was ready. The food was delicious! The whole time we were there all of the staff made us feel very welcome & they knew who we were & addressed us by our name! Attention to detail was second to none
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff were friendly and helpful except for the shift manager. Our shower had luke warm water and no pressure. I had a bath and didn't turn and cold water on and it was only warm at best. The dressing gowns provided had marks on he collar as though they had been worn. My husband had Rib eye steak in the restaurant which he ordered medium rare it came out well done so we sent it back. The staff were very apologetic and gave him another meal however this meant we ate at different times. There was no offer of a glass of complimentary wine or reduced bill. When I spoke to the shift manager the next day she said they would send the maintenance people to look at the problem with the water and said that the meal had been replaced so it was ok. Wouldn't recommend this place for a special night as it was supposed to be for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle NSW Australia

Nice hotel, good location and great history.

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Wotif
Hotel was very good in all areas with the only exception being the dinning room where the evening meal menu was limited and breakfast a disappointment after reading an interesting sounding menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely castle with secure overnight parking and free Wi-Fi. I stayed in one of the rooms in the courtyard and while the room was small, it was quiet, with everything I needed for my business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Atomosphere
Location: Near Durham, the World Heritage site.
My friend and I had a great time here. My friend booked a double room which has a four poster bed, a nice bath, and a washing room going through a wardrobe like the Chronicles of Narnia. Amazing experience. And I booked a single room but they forgort to clean it up. Luckily they upgrade my room to a double room, with not a four poster but a luxuary bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel steeped in history and set in lovely grounds

Posted Mar 26, 2017
If you eat dinner in the restaurant, stick to the Chefs recommendations. Service is good but the costumes are a bit "Disney" a good place to be if you are going to the cricket.