Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Fantastic night food was lovely and staff very helpful. Would recommend you everyone. Thank you very much I'll be back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice different hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
The stay at Lumley Castle is a totally different experience than all the other hotels. You feel you are transported into the XIV century. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The dinner menu at the Black Knight Restaurant is delicious, they also have a kids menu. The decor in the hotel is fantastic and it is surrounded by beautiful green parks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnley lancashire

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The hotel and facilities were excellent . We had a meal the first night and it was excellent so was the breakfast. The only thing that spoilt the all time being there was when we check out we found that we had to pay full price for the breakfast which was 15pounds but we were told when we arrived that as we were guest we would get a voucher off the breakfast for 4.85 when we quieried this they told us we should of come to reception for the voucher but we were never told this we just thought it would be taken off when we checked in for our breakfast that morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

Great hotel and experience, but...,:

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Disappointingly small room with only one chair for both of us to share, took over twenty four hours for them to get the heating working, although there was an electric fan in the room. Housekeeping staff a bit over exuberant in the mornings wanting entry to clean the the room? However, excellent food wth staff in period dress. An interesting place to explore in exceptional grounds. Would consider returning but will istist on a larger room and more seating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The property appeared to have more to offer than was conveyed. Less authentic than other cattle hotel experiences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel with a very classic feeling it and a great place for a wedding day/night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santos Brazil

Grand Elegance

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Beautifully maintained castle. Retained it's splendor and allure, without being out of reach of the ordinary visitor budget.
Location: Wonderful grounds and setting. Close to Durham City and Beamish Museum. Near access to A1 for driving up to Newcastle, or further south into York.
Short visit to the North of England which was able to be spent in affordable luxury.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
great hotel - lots of personality - excellent - cosy welcome rooms peaceful and beautiful countryside .
4 out of 5
by EMMA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Wedding celebration

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights to celebrate a family wedding. We stayed in a castle feature room whic I can recommend. The service from check in to check out was perfect.