Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2016 on Orbitz
The room was smaller room but had a large bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and the castle was beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Mandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Roger

Lovely castle, shame about the customer service

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
we loved Lumley Castle for the building and our bedroom. But the service was appalling. Right from the start at Reception when the woman treated us like infants, telling us we needed breakfast vouchers, the refusal to believe we were residents went we went for a drink at the bar and having to go back up to our bedroom to get some proof and the service at breakfast was appalling. (and so was the food). All the staff, bar one, need to go on a customer service course. The only good person was the porter, he was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Il

Great relaxing place!!

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Having evening meal and after drinks in the Castle Library! The bed was very comfortable, as well!
Location: Visit nearby village Chester Le Street, Riverside park and walk trails near park and Castle! There is a short cut walking from Castle to the village t
I had a wonderful relaxing stay at a very affordable price, especially for a Castle in England!!
5 out of 5
by Duncan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Llantwit Fardre

Castle with comfort

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great value stop over in fabulous castle setting - a real pleasure to stay in such an old building with all the modern comforts in place. We ate in the restaurant which again was a real step back into times gone by and the food was excellent quality and cost wise on par with what you would pay in a decent restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Kerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by jon from Newcastle upon Tyne

Excellent

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in a fantastic setting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lumley Castle Hotel - April 2016

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel - a family favourite since I was married there 29 years ago but could improve: 2 members of staff at dinner and in the Library were amazing (very tall guy, blond ponytail and the non-UK middle aged guy) but on the whole the customer service / bar staff are not as polished as you would expect nowadays. Mostly quite roughly spoken and abrupt. Also, it seemed obvious that there was little appreciation of the value of the residents in terms of nights stayed and spend in the Library and Restaurant - between the courtyard and main hotel guests. Customer Service lets it down overall - general consensus of our party was that the 'fancy dress' of the velvet dress costumes for the female members of staff was now not appropriate for a 4 star hotel and that smart suits or uniforms would improve the overall feel of the place / add to the professionalism. Staff too happy to chat amongst themselves about things that guests should not be involved in. Overall a lovely hotel, could do with a little smartening up in places, stairways kept cleaner / toilets upgraded as now very dated but I would revisit definitely - the food in the main restaurant was outstanding apart from one desert which was just ok.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Lovely hotel would recommend to everyone

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: A few bits of decor on the ceiling in the corridor on second floor needed attention. And a feather duster along those ceilings too. Cob webs.
Location: Very central for Durham, Newcastle, Northumbria in general.
We had two lovely nights stay the hotel was comfortable and the breakfasts were very satisfactory for a good day ahead.