Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean rooms, amenities not that great.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The room was clean, the views were good, the staff was nice and we enjoyed the swans and geese. The pool was not heated and the hot tub was small. Our stay was made bad by the overcrowding of Mennonite families, multiple family members crowded into rooms. They overran the small pool and overwhelmed the breakfast. There were so many at breakfast we were unable to eat. I don't know if the hotel was aware that they overpacked the rooms but there were at least 6 people in each 4 person room. I was not impressed with the pool, pictures shown make it seem much bigger then it really is. The shower needs to have the rust removed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Close to Indiana Dunes State Park

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We were looking for a comfortable hotel close to Indiana Dunes State Park. The hotel fit the bill. There are many places to eat nearby. I enjoyed breakfast while sitting outside overlooking the lake.
4 out of 5
by Ann

Meeting the kids for the weekend

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, the stay was good. We were on the lakeside of the building which gave us a super view. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. I am kind of picky, so I did notice that the floor in the bathroom had a couple spider webs in the corners and I could see crumbs along with small pieces of paper on the carpet. The pool and hot tub were very nice. Breakfast was also good. We would stay again. Staff was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Weekend getaway from the kids spent here. We came around 5pm and check-in was quick and easy. Staff was welcoming and friendly. The lobby was inviting and nicely decorated. Our room was a king standard room the second floor. Had I known the lake looked much cleaner and pretty than the pictures online I would have opted for lakeside, but it's not like I spent much time looking out the window anyway. Location was great. We used the Dune Park train station to go to Chicago for the day. Came back in the late afternoon and spent the evening at the Dunes State Park that was only 5 minutes from the hotel. (Had so much fun walking the beach, climbing the sand dunes, and watching the sunset...) Went back to the hotel to spend some time in the pool area, but that was short lived. The sauna was nice, but small. It felt cramped even with just my husband and myself. The pool was nice, but too cold for my likings. My kids would have had no problems with it. And it's only 4.5 ft all around which is nice for worrisome moms. The hot tub, or should I say lukewarm tub, had no stairs to get in or out, which should be a safety concern to staff as someone could slip and fall. Water was the temperature of a bath that I would get out of because it's getting too cool. Went to the room to end the evening. The room was clean but the bed wasn't very comfortable. Air conditioning unit worked well. Breakfast in the morning was ok but the over-hard eggs had too much pepper in them. Check out was quick.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

In the perfect location for indiana dunes vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Older Hotel, some eyesores like bathbar didnt have covers on each side so yucky is visible; and pool lining bubbling. But way comfortable, had all necessities for comfortable stay. Staff is fantastic and location is perfect short distances to everything dunes related and no more than 20 mins from surrounding towns.
3 out of 5
by Mary Anne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hidden gem in Chesterton

Posted Mar 5, 2017
We loved our stay in Chesterton. Our room faced the lake at sunset and we made friends with the swans, geese and ducks. Glad to come back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

closeness

Posted Mar 4, 2017
I liked the view of the pond, didn't care for the highway noise. Liked that I was only 5 minutes from my job site. Also wasn't happy about no elevator at first, then I remembered that walking is good and healthy for me!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterton, IN

Clean room (in general) and comfortable bed but...

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location, Comfortable bed
Cons: Fix the pool heater, Fix the drain in room 206.
Location: By other hotels
Like I sad, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean but many things forced me to give it lower ratings. The drain in the shower/tube was very slow. By the time I got out of the shower there was 3 inches of standing water. It eventually went down. The bathroom light switch has a fan connected to it was well. The fan was very loud. The sliding glass door to the outside was filthy. Looked like a small child with food had left licking and hand prints all over it. The pool was either not heated or the heater was turned off. It was cold. Hot tube smelled bad. Water was cloudy. The free breakfast was terrible. There was hair in several of the juice glasses. The orange juice was mostly water. The coffee smelled like it was old, freeze dried. There was black chunks and white chunks in the bottom of the coffee cup. I have had the same brand of waffles at several hotels in the last year. The waffle I had there tasted off. Either old or not stored properly.
4 out of 5
by Martha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels