Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Surprisingly nice hotel--the outside doesn't do it justice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Good location, very clean facility. Very convenient for our plans. Metro station 2 blocks away. In the middle of Chevy Case shopping district with plenty of stores and a wide offer of restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear the location, cleanliness and area shopping and dining made your stay a great one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice to stay at. Close to metro too.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Everything was great. Only thing they need to fix their shower drains. The water doesn’t drain very good so you’re taking a bath when you’re really just trying to shower. Also the tub floor felt soapy scummy. Probably because that can’t even drain it well when cleaning it. The people were very nice. Great place to stay 3 blocks from metro!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for letting us know about the shower drain issue you had during your stay. We are very sorry you experienced this issue. We do our best to capture any shower drainage issues during the preventative maintenance rounds but we must have missed this one. We are happy to know you enjoyed the staff and the location and hope you return again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn ny

Posted Oct 23, 2017
This is a great place to stay for visiting someone attending American University. The food, location and facilities are great. The outdoor pool is a joy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Marilyn, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We love hosting our AU students, family and guests and are happy that you found the food, location and facilities to your liking! It sounds like you had an opportunity to relax on the outdoor pool deck during the beautiful weather we've been having here, even though the actual pool (water) was closed as of Labor Day. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, pleasant front-desk staff

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: Better response to questions about item left behind.
Location: Metro is a close walk. Lots of high-end shopping, plenty of eateries at all price points. Check out Meiwah on Willard - very good food!
We stayed last weekend while in town for a family visit. We chose the hotel due to its location to both the Metro, and family we were visiting in Maryland. Our check in clerk was excellent. Personable, and helpful. The room was clean. Smaller than some other Courtyard properties - but to be expected in a city setting. My one issue is with Housekeeping. My daughter left a pair of headphones in our room. As instructed, I left a message with Housekeeping, asking if they had found them. I asked for a follow-up call. It's been two days and I've heard nothing. I'm assuming the headphones are gone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize that we did not contact you immediately regarding your missing item. We notified our housekeeping manager to follow up with you immediately upon receipt of your comments to rectify the situation; she was eager to get in touch with you. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the location, shopping and dining options during your visit with family. We hope we can host you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

5 minute walk from the Metro.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It was pretty comfortable. The lobby was a good place to meet/gather with fellow travelers.
Cons: The chairs in the restaurant are hard to move when you are getting seated. A few people commented on the same issue when they were seating themselves.
Location: It's a 5 minute walk to the red Metro line. It was a bit too far for a single woman to walk home alone from the train at night.
My stay revolved around a nearby convention where I basically got up 6 am and returned around midnight each day. I did not spend much time in my room other than sleeping and preparing to depart. First of all, it was so great they were able to accommodate an early check in. That's always a huge relief. I was offered a room on the 10th floor in the back part of the hotel as I preferred a quiet room. I felt it was very quiet throughout the stay. Also, since I never stayed in a DC area hotel before, I was a little concerned about noise or rumble from the Metro.I never heard or felt any during my stay. The bed was comfortable, climate control was good. Again, long days at a convention meant I was tired when I returned and it was easy to sleep. I use my own phone for alarms and information so not much interaction with the internet or TV for services. It was handy having a refrigerator where I could leave a quick bite for breakfast stored. Also, it was handy to have the restaurant downstairs serving a brand name coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by AHarris, Hotel Management
Dear Linda, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments about the location, bed and HVAC. We are also happy you enjoyed the in room refrigerator and took advantage of the lobby being a good place to gather with your fellow travelers. Thanks for the comment regarding the restaurant chairs. We will definitely take that under consideration. We hope you come back for another visit soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Really nice hotel, excellent location,

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: staff, rooms were really nicely appointed
Cons: It would have been nice if the outdoor pool was still open. It would have been nice to be able to use it this weekend, but we were told it was closed
Location: lots of shopping, restaraunts and close to DC by taxi
very nice overnight stay. we enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding area. wish we could have stayed longer to take in more of the sights but a very quick trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by AHarris, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your review of our hotel - we appreciate your rating! Sorry you missed the pool for the season. We hope the next time you come back it will be between May and September when it is open. Glad to know you enjoyed the location. We look forward to you returning again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Nice hotel convenient to Georgetown Hospital.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: firm beds, a good morning breakfast with hot coffee, a complimentary newspaper (Washington Post), and an in-room coffee pot.
Cons: The parking garage was also used by local businesses. Parking for the hotel was in one section of the garage, but it was confusing.
Location: It is convenient to Georgetown University, Hospital, Ford's Theatre, and the night life of. The National Cathedral is about three miles away.
The hotel is on Wisconsin Ave., just a short distance from the Washington, D.C. line. The hotel had a lovely foyer, which at breakfast was converted into a cafeteria. The food was delicious and affordable. Our room was nice - everything was clean and the beds, a rarity at hotels I've stayed at lately, were firm. I have back problems, so I really appreciated that. I would recommend a stay at this hotel to a friend who was visiting Washington. It's convenient to Georgetown and other points of interest, such as the National Cathedral.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by AHarris, Hotel Management
Dear Bruce, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your bed, the complimentary newspaper and your breakfast. It is also nice to hear the location was convenient for you as well. Sorry about the garage. We do do not own or operate it and have to share it with the local businesses. Next time you visit us remember to take three lefts after the entrance booth and park in the green column spaces! That makes entering the hotel elevator lobby a breeze. Sorry our staff did not tell you that. Come back for another visit soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but probably won't stay again

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Hotel was a little dated but comfortable. Staff was friendly. Love that the location is convenient to dining, shopping and the metro. They charge you for the breakfast items that you would normaly get for free continental breakfast at other hotels but they also have other hot breakfast items on the menu. Underground hotel parking wasn't free, it was too narrow in places and the roof was scarcely low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt our hotel to be dated but happy you found it to be comfortable and the staff friendly. Marriott's Courtyard brand does not offer complimentary breakfast, but we do have a large selection of both a la carte and full meal options for you to choose from. I understand what you mean about the parking; our employees park there as well and pay the fee. We do not own or operate the parking garage next to the hotel and unfortunately do not determine the pricing or have a say in the physical layout. We do hope when you return for another stay, that you will take advantage of the above ground parking deck around the back of the hotel so you don't have to go underground. We hope to see you for another visit soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great parking ,access to the subway and great dining within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by A. Harris, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for the great rating. We are happy you liked the access to the metro, parking and dining options. Come back and see us again soon!