Ratings based on 359 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Breakfast person was rude Hall way smelt musty. People smoking in entrance way
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Jennifer W, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in Cheyenne, WY. I am so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied and that you found the halls to have a musty smell. I am also so sorry to hear that your restaurant staff was rude to you and I can promise you I will be discussing this with the team. Thank you again for your stay. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Walker General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely aweful

Posted Sep 9, 2016
I paid for a room with a view but not only did i get a room with a view of the building across the street but it was also a very noisy street and a badly smelled room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
First of all, thank you so much for the time taken to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am so sorry that you found your room to have a bad smell and that you did not get the view you were anticipating. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future to give you the exceptional experience you deserve. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not updated, stuffy, cramped

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Small room, bed was not a queen, noisy would be a nice place to stay if you were working on a construction site And staying for a week
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by jsiegel@innercirclehotels.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry that you found your room to be small and in need of updates. I hope you were still able to get some good rest before proceeding on with your travels. We hope to see you again! Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired...

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: A working air conditioner would make sleeping much easier.
This an old hotel rebranded as a Radisson. The first floor room a/c did not work properly and as the windows were sealed, sleeping was quite difficult.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the time you have taken to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were not satisfied with your room and that the air conditioner did not work properly. Although you had an unfortunate experience I do hope that our staff made you feel welcome and that they were helpful to your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet
I wanted a clean, quiet comfortable place to stay with easy access off the interstate. Radisson hotel was right off the freeway with easy access. Everything was clean, quiet as expected. Drawbacks: restaurants choices were limited but that is NO fault of the hotel. However, Cheyenne is not that big and places to eat were within 10 minutes drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your time! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your room to be clean, quiet, and comfortable. I hope you were able to get some good rest. I am however very sorry that you found the restaurant options limited but I am happy you were able to find elsewhere to eat. We hope that the remainder of your travels go well and we look forward to seeing you during future travels to our area! Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mt

Photos are deceiving

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Lobby looks classy in photos, but when you get to motel, from outside it looks like a hodunk! Then when you head inside and start down hall to room, there are bunch of trash bags at end of hall at almost supper time. Room was alrite, just really out dated furniture. Sheets and pillow cases are wrinkled bad! Bathroom lights so dim, felt like putting makeup on in the closet. Dried toilet paper or paper towel at base of toilet!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in Cheyenne, WY. I am so sorry to hear that you were not overly satisfied with your stay and that the pictures came across as decieving. I also sincerely apologize that your pillow cases appeared wrinkled and I can promise you I will get this fixed. Although the appearance did not satisfy you, I do hope that the hotel staff were friendly and inviting upon your arrival and during your stay. We hope to see you during future travels. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, Az

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pillows were all lumpy and bed was too soft, woke up with a back ache!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by chwyreservations@innercirclehotels.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review I appreciate you taking the time. I am sorry that you didn't find as much comfort as you'd hope, however I do see that overall you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your time and I hope you were able to have some fun in Cheyenne while visiting! See you again soon! Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the activities I was attending.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: It's location
Cons: Better management, better maintenance, better room service, lower price for the lesser quality.
Location: n/a
The hotel seemed old and showed a lack of maintenance. The room seemed to meet our needs the first night until the air conditioner came on. The fan blades were making contact with the housing and would startle you awake each time it came on. The second night we got back to the room at 11:45 pm, I was killing bugs in the bathroom, the glasses had not been refreshed. and the trash had not been emptied, and the fan was still making noise. Then the fire alarm went off at 1:10 AM, driving us from our room for an unknown length of time. Fortunately we had our bags still packed and left the hotel to find other accommodations. Also, the morning of the second day we ate at the hotel restaurant and were unable to pay for our meal because they had no way to do that! Really?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience in Cheyenne, WY. I am so sorry that you had some major issues during your stay and that you were not satisfied. I will be sure to look into the items you have addressed and get them solved to the best of my abilities. Again I am terribly sorry, I hope your activities went well and that the remainder of your travels better suit your needs. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheridan Wyoming

Not really Radisson quality

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: They did have a lot of staff working.
Cons: Maybe another chain will buy it!
Location: Sucks! Right off of major freeway with traffic noise all night long.
Don't be fooled by the name. I hate it when a chain charges a 30% premium for my room for my dog and then puts me in room 541. Dogs need walking and not only is it hard for animals to ride in the elevator, but most of your guests are intimidated in getting into an elevator with my female Pitbull, even though about all she would do is lick you to death! GET SOME MAIN FLOOR ROOMS FOR GUESTS WITH ANIMALS WHEN CHARGING SUCH A PREMIUM. This hotel is not sound proofed, and the wall heater unit in my room made an escalating noised as the heat kicked in. The TV would not work until I had to take the plug and plug it into a lamp plug. You should have seen the dust behind that dresser. Scary! I did not get my C note's worth, and I won't be back!!!! Elevator is so old that "bells" sound at each floor. Actual bells!!! OMG!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Dear Randy, First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay in Cheyenne, WY. I am so incredibly sorry that you were not please with the location of your room and that overall you just really did not enjoy your stay! I do apologize and I will definitely be looking into the concerns your have given. I hope you will give us a chance in the future. I am so sorry. Thank you again. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Everyone was so helpful and kind. Nice having a restaurant right there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Jennifer T, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your response I am so happy that your experience with us was so wonderful! I am happy you got the opportunity to enjoy a meal in the restaurant. We hope to see you back again during future travels to Cheyenne, WY. Yours in Hospitality, Jennifer Thayer General Manager