Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location downtown

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: well kept
Location: only took advantage of nearby restaurant
The hotel had a good historical atmosphere and yet modernized enough to be completely comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ragle Odaho

Great location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
This is a very old Hotel. The rooms are not very comfortable and on the backside you are next to major power lines outside of your window. The breakfast is pathetic! It's great for the historical value but nothing else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Awesome hotel! Hate parking, though!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Cons: Parking
They prefer that you park in a parking garage about two blocks away. Not fun when it's 10 pm and you have two little kids in tow. Otherwise - the hotel was awesome - lots of neat antiques & historical information. Wish we had more time to look around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richland, WA

Historic hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: We loved it's historic charm, warm and friendly staff, and the spacious rooms. There was also a hot breakfast with a variety of food choices.
Cons: We didn't realize that the main parking for the area was a couple blocks away. You can load/unload in front of the hotel.
Location: It is located in downtown Cheyenne so there are many shops and restaurants within walking distance as well as a historic train depot.
If you appreciate history and architecture, you'll enjoy a stay at the Historic Plains Hotel. At first my family thought I'd booked them in to some old hotel, but it was charming and the rooms were very spacious. It is also located in the downtown area, so you can walk around and enjoy the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic

Posted Jul 13, 2017
What it lacks in amenities, it makes up for in charm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Western Experience

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The cookies at check in were great.
Cons: The rooms need an upgrade.
Location: The road noise was very loud.
The bathroom was not clean and the tub did not drain when you took a shower. The sink was cracked and so was the toilet. The rooms really need an upgrade. The air conditioner did not work very well and the road noise was very loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff! Very attentive and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin Ca

Great Experience

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This was a great experience if you have any interest in history. The staff was fantastic. The hotel is comfortable and very interesting. The room was clean and comfortable. If there was anything to complain about it would be the small elevator, but it turned out to be a great way to meet people (people tend to converse more when forced into uncomfortably close proximity).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Historic hotel in downtown Cheyenne, Wyoming.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
This hotel has a lot of character and history that is why I chose to stay here. However, they really need to update the basic systems such as plumbing and electrical. The shower did not work. There was only one unused outlet in the room. The overhead light did notturn on. The room also was not very clean. Overall we were disappointed. On the pulse side it is within walking distance of many of Cheyenne's downtown attractions. The breakfast was OK, not great, but comparable to complimentary breakfasts at other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolils, MN

Historic hotel took us back in time.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Location, lobby and historic feel for a very reasonable rate.
Cons: Bar not open during our stay. Would have like to sit in the street front bar.
Location: Check out the "free" carriage ride around town.
It was definetly worth the stop. We were pleasantly surprised that such an old building could be comfortable and fun. We were just passing thru Cheyenne and needed a place to stay overnight and pass some time. It was $2 Tuesday, at the movie theater across the street, and we saw 2 (lousey) movies but for $2, can't complain --- in a quaint, old theater.