Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Staff was wonderful! They upgraded me to a suite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Michigan

Historic Downtown Motel

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: All the old artifacts of the west and the location.
Location: This hotel is right downtown Cheyenne. Walking distance to a great Mexican restuarant and 3 brew pubs.
This hotel has personality. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Since it is such an old hotel the rooms are a bit smaller than many chain places. It more than makes up for it in atmosphere and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

One of a kind, historic downtown hotel!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: I really enjoyed the restaurant and bar that is conveniently located on the street level of the hotel. The hotel staff was very pleasing.
Cons: I understand that this is an old historic building, but going that extra step to insure the rooms are as clean as they can be would go a long way.
Location: The hotel is centrally located downtown on a main street in Cheyenne. There are lots of places to walk to for dinner, drinks and entertainment.
The first thing I noticed when trying to get to this hotel is the lack of parking. The hotel is on a main street and there is only two hour parking all around the building. Unless you are checking in after 5pm (2 hour parking is from 8am-5pm) or don't mind a short walk from a nearby open public parking lot, then it could be a struggle to find decent parking for the evening. Once I was parked, getting checked into my room was quick and the staff helping me was very friendly and accommodating. Once I was in my room I was able to settle in nicely. The shower had great water pressure and ample hot water. One thing to note about the room I stayed in was the small number of outlets. I had to unplug the clock by the bed and one of the lamps just to charge my devices. This is a historic building and the owners definitely did their best to add as many outlets as they could, but it isn't many compared to newer hotels. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were pricey compared to other food options nearby, but had great food and drink selections. One more thing to note was the fact that this hotel is right across from the old train station and on a main street. It makes for a noisy evening. I had no issue sleeping that night, but while spending time in my room the trains and cars passing by definitely got loud at times. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to others even with the few minor issues I had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Shower didn't work.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Not the first time this was spelled out in a review for this hotel. You think they could fix these little things and get themselves a grand review!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool old time hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: cool archecture
They had a 30.00 dollar dinner discount but the restaurant closes early in the evening and even though the check in staff said they would let us use it for breakfast they said they had just got in trouble about telling a guest they could. Didn't matter anyway the restaurant wasn't open for breakfast until 8 Am anyway. not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Junction

Neat history

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Old hotel with history downtown Chyennee. Nearby eats make it convenient. It is an old hotel so don't expect it to be perfect. Plumbing it to be desired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, WY

Historic Plains Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
It is an older building, so some flaws are expected. Our toilet would not flush, we feared it might over flow at times. Also our heater was not the best, it was a cold night and the heater did not heat the whole room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice hotel in downtown area

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great location, parking garage a couple blocks away, nice room. Everything was great, except the shower had hair on the walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Driving across country

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Loved the historic hotel in the heart of downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Iowa

A couple of days in historic Cheyenne

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Within walking distance to an interesting variety of restaurants, shopping, and entertainment/ Love the new brewery at the train depot!
I much enjoyed my stay at the Plains! So nice to be picked up from the airport and driven the short distance into the heart of downtown Cheyenne. The hotel lobby is very welcoming, as is the restaurant and bar area. Enjoyed the vignettes of history displayed throughout the building as well as the antique furnishings. The hotel staff was great; 24/7 - some of the nicest people you ever want to meet and there to help with all of your needs.