Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Cheyenne, historic building

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: They needed more desk staff for their busy day and better communication between staff. Can't get by on charm and apologies.
My check-in was not handled smoothly but the General Manager did eventually make up for it after an hour's wait by putting me into a very nice room and making sure that I was comfortable. And they called a little while later to make sure I had everything I needed. Redemption! But a rough start to my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Loved this historic hotel and beds were super comfy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from A

Loved the historical feel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Staff was super friendly. Loved the ambiance, it was like going back in time. Rooms clean and comfortable. Loved the history and artifacts. Restaurant in lobby was great and staff accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Service and people were apathetic. Room was noisy, mpved to another, workers working outside. Hotel had some ambience, but facilities looked neglected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Fair Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Higher toilets and washcloths in bathroom. Have AC on in the room when you arrive.
Location: too hot to go out
Our room was hot when we got there on a 90 degree day. A window was open. We were able to shut it with some effort. There were no wash cloths in the bathroom. The only elevator was small and hot. The staff in the restaurant were helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neat place!

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Everything! Not a big box motel. Delicious cookies and lemonade after check in.
Location: Downtown Cheyenne across the street from railroad museum. Happened to be there to participate in "The Great Race", which was a bonus!
Historic downtown, renovated hotel across the street from downtown plaza. Very nicely decorated, friendly staff, and good food on site. Parking is on street or 2 blocks down in a structure...the only slightly inconvenient aspect. Very helpful staff and unloading in front of hotel, so very doable nonetheless. We enjoyed all aspects of the stay. Interesting note about the elevator provided by Cheyenne native: The tiny elevator (2 passengers + luggage cart) was allegedly built to prevent cowboys from taking their horses into the hotel with them back in the day! Elevator works and the stairs are wide. Only 5 floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, CA

Fair Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Lobby
Cons: Bathroom repair
Location: Located in old business district. Shops and movie theater near by.
This is a 105 year old hotel. The lobby was very nice. We had a small room with only a queen bed. I'm sure this hotel had a lot of history, but didn't stay long enough to investigate. The bathroom had cracked tiles and the water never got hot. Parking is only on the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I did not get a renovated room.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: History
Cons: Cleanliness. Food. Bar Menu
Location: Easy access to interstate.
Carpet was stained. Restaurant was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful historic hotel downtown.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: It was historic, beautifully decorated with many native pieces of artwork. It was clean. Staff was wonderful.
Cons: Just maybe getting hot water a little quicker.
Location: It is on Central, the main street of downtown Cheyenne, WY. There are stores, antique shops, restaurants, and lots to see.
During a difficult family time, Isaac, Assistant Manager, and Tasha, the front desk clerk, were very very kind to us. We had a beautiful place to stay. It was very late at night when we checked while our loved one was in the hospital and subsequently passed away. Had it not been for their kindness and help our stress levels would have been out of sigh.It is a wonderful historic facility. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Director of Sales , Hotel Management
Hi Sharyn, Greetings from the Historic Plains Hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive review on the property. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with both Issac and Tasha on a job well done. We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope to have an opportunity to host you on a future visit to the Cheyenne area. Have a great summer.
4 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels