Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

There are other options

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: quiet and traditional Lanna style accomodations.
Cons: see the review
Don't get me wrong, it's a nice place, super quiet, beautiful pools. But service is inconsistent and rooms are not equipped as shown. I booked a superior with a large bed and tub. When I got there, it was: Sorry your room doesn't have a tub and we just push the two twin beds together to make a big bed. (Well, I don't like falling in the crack every time I need to hug my lady.) "Oh, sorry, room with tub and one big bed is 500 baht more a night." Alright, let's do that. Hmm, then no iron or ironing board, 3 hangers, no DVD player and amusingly low water pressure... wait for it, wait for it... the hot water I mean. There's also a nice set of instructions as to using the tub. Something like this: "Water heater is shared by two villas, so fill the tub halfway with COLD water and then add hot to your comfort level." Okay, so what about the food? Certainly Chiang Mai food is not as hot as Issan or Phuket, but I think this food has been cooled down for the tourists. The breakfast is nice and the folks that work the breakfast are kind. But the dinners are sort of bland. On one occasion, my pad thai goong had only 2 shrimp. I didn't have to pay for it, but? Yes, you can go down to the river and see the elephants and that is great, but beware if you rent a room down that way, you're going to hear the PA announcements for the elephant show and the construction that is going on down there. They call it an elephant sanctuary, but it looks more like an elephant riding business, you decide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Golden

It's paradise!!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
We loved Chiang Mai... It's absolutely stunning. The hotel was nestled in the mountains and had the most gorgeous views. The staff is very nice and helpful. The food is great. We did the Thai Elephant tour while were there and it was an amazing experience. We would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by marlene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Quiet and away from the city

Posted May 18, 2016
The grounds are nice being in the country. My stay was good until it was time to sleep. The bed was hard as a rock!
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Chiang Mai, Thailand

Very good - but a few significant shortcomings too

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed 4 nights. Major pros = nice location; good breakfast buffet spread; swimming pools; good wifi. Major cons = restaurant is very expensive & the Western food is NOT good; TV channels are NOT what’s in the hotel write-up (there are 20 channels, mostly Thai) & no DVD player. We've lived in Thailand for 10 years - we know hotels in the area, prices, etc. This hotel is one of the best for location, ambience. Thai food in the restaurant is OK (but nothing special when comparing with restaurants in Chiang Mai), but western food is terrible......we had salmon on our first night (450 baht) and it didn't taste fresh. The menu said it came with fries, but they served it with packet-mix mashed potatoes - and no explanation or apology for no fries. The salad (220 baht) was pathetic & uninspiring. The next night we ordered Hawaiian pizza - it was a store-bought frozen pizza heated up - terrible. After that, we only ordered Thai food. Would we come again or recommend it - definitely…..just readjust your expectations for dinner.....or go off-site. Breakfast spread was very good - including good quality muesli. Swimming pools are very good - including a small semi-private pool which our room shared with 3 others (we'd booked the cheapest rooms). One other small gripe - we arrived at midday; but even by 2pm (normal check-in time) our room wasn't ready. Finally one good point - wifi signal was strong - I streamed a live Formula 1 race in our room with no interruptions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel in the hills

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Loved this area But they do not have decent house wine
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by christina from Montreal

Missing it already

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Although the hotel was about an hour to an hour and a half away from town and other activities, and they do not arrange transport, the breathtaking views and very caring staff made it all worth while. Hotel Grounds were unbelievable, breakfast and pool area fantastic, and its location is right next to the elephant camp and long neck village. I will definitely be going back there and no where else.
4 out of 5
by Anat-chnid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels