Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It is obvious that this is an older building. Probably from the 60s but unlike the faded elegance of many establishments of that era this hotel has been well maintained (or refurbished). It was conveniently located to downtown Chiang Mai. Not walking distance but easy ride and most taxis knew how to get there. It is a beautiful establishment. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating. We booked an excursion late, too late for a proper tour company to pick us up so the concierge became tour guide and driver. Took us on our excursion and managed all the venue tickets and show schedules. I know that he took the fee but even so, in all my years of travel, when we have been late we have just been told no. It was refreshing to be treated so well. The only complaint I had was about the shower and the jacuzzi. It was a romantic getaway for us. The outdoor shower was beautiful (lapis blue tiles, hand carved mahogany shutters and doors) however getting hot water was problematical. There was a shower wand in the jacuzzi so we pretty much ended up showering there. The jacuzzi was sized for four but there was not enough hot water available to fill it in order for just 2 of us to use it. We figured it out but it was not convenient or quick and my wife...well when it got complicated she just wanted to forget it. Once I got it working and warm it was nice...See through screen to city skyline and open to the stars...but we only used it as a jacuzzi twice in 5 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario Canada

Needs updating

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The staff were wonderful. Very happy and eager to be helpful. The hotel decor is very rich with dark wood everywhere and many intricate carvings. Very beautiful. That said, the room was very dated. The carpets were quite stained and really need to be replaced completely. The tiles in the bathroom need a good cleaning and the curtain around the hot tub looked like rags hanging from a string. The room had all the amenities you need but really needs some updating. The breakfast was decent and you can get made-to-order items along with the buffet. They had good coffee which has been hard to find on our trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Not quite, loud bar and 3 am rooster calls

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Replace the torn drapes, noise-proof the rooms, notify guests of mosquito spraying
We booked 4 nights, but stayed only 2 and moved to the Rustic River Boutique - it was much much much better. The first night we stayed in a Lanna suite on the 5th floor. The bar across the street was very loud until 1 am. Then a rooster cockadoodledooed from 3 am until 8 am every 5-10 minutes each morning. We did not get any sleep. The second night we asked to be moved to another room that was not bar facing. Still the rooster woke us up at 3 am. The windows do not close and there are 1-2 inch cracks in each window or door to the outside which means were heard everything happening on the outside in our hotel room. You can hear the rooster next door from all areas in the hotel. It is unnerving. During the daytime, a man sprays mosquito repellent inside of the hotel with a gas-powered leaf blower. The hotel did not tell us about the spray. I walked into the hallway to see what the noise was and got a lungfull of spray. I felt dizzy and my throat hurt for the rest of the day. Additionally, upon our arrival at the airport, the free car service lost their keys and we were forced to take a cab. The hotel did pay for a cab ride, but it was very unprofessional. Do not be tempted by the glorious hot tubs. Once you are in the room you will not want to enjoy them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good room facility but poor WIFI connectivity

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Big Jacuzzi. Big room
Cons: WIFI connection
I'd highly recommend if you like big Jacuzzi. But do not stay in this hotel if WIFI connectivity is important for you. The WIFI in my room is totally useless even the staff reset the router
5 out of 5
by Anna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well hidden, need taxi for rest and shops

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: The theme of the hotel is amazing
Cons: The hotel looks old and worn, needs renovation
Location: Need a Tuk Tuk Taxi to get anywhere
Beautiful first impression, however upon closer inspection it is very work. booked a jacuzzi suite that was meant to have windows that open to look out at mountain views, however the window were broken , hence no view. the room itself was very worn. the shower did not have any adjustment button (broken off). Torn bathrobes. The handle to the door to the toilet was broken. The lampshades at the back of the bed were not working. some lightbulbs were flickering on and off. The mini bar set up was incomplete with the list provided. There were gaps in the wooden windows ( which is the style of the hotel) but these let many mosquitos get in to the room. The tiles in the shower were full of mould. The Vanity chair was badly stained. It has potential to be a beautiful property with a little renovation and care, but unfortunately I would not return until such time as the building gets an overhaul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week end in CNX

Posted Jan 19, 2017
From the moment we walked in to the time we departed the hospitality was superb . Staff were amazing . Pool was so nice . Breakfast was perfect . Room was amazing with great mountain views. Will be back soon . Hopefully in April.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Korea

Beautiful decoration with colourful tiles

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Free shuttle to airport.
Cons: A bit old carpet.
Location: Near to Central Plaza and Airport.
Staff are kind and charming breakfast in the morning. A bit difficulty to find out the place but easy to go airport with free shuttle service.
2 out of 5
by Tan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Unique hotel, nice atmosphere and nice staffs. I highly recommend to everyone