Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017
An incredibly large hotel with a jaw dropping pool. There is a gym, an amazing restaurant with complimentary buffet breakfast, and we could see the elephants walk through the river from our room every morning! It's close to many elephant camps (just make sure you do your research on which ones are ethical) and is located in the mountains, surrounded by surene nature and stillness. Absolutely incredible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Amazing stay! Staff was extremely friendly and hotel was filled with amazing ornaments and art pieces!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

better than expected

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: the room was amazing! the staff super friendly and attentive.
Cons: laundry service
Location: walkable distance to Chiang Mai gate, which is a food market, only for the brave. you can get pork, chicken, fish or thai dishes by the scoop.
i cannot in good conscience take away any stars but i do want to notate the following: the Jacuzzi in our room never truly got warm enough, the water was lukewarm at the best. one day after doing the room clean up, they left the dirty sheets on the floor, no big deal, the room was huge, but they did forget them. and the biggest DON'T is, do not by any means do laundry through the hotel, the rates are insanely high, i'm talking $67 US Dollars for 2 tiny bags of clothes, they charge by piece, so don't do laundry there! now for the good: the room is huge and very nicely decorated, the hotel is small so they have very few guests at a time and they pay a lot of attention to you. the breakfast is ok, i like the fact that they don't put out too much food, no waste. the pool was nice and the sauna also. the staff is the best, they all treated us incredibly, willing to guide you and recommend places. i would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
It is obvious that this is an older building. Probably from the 60s but unlike the faded elegance of many establishments of that era this hotel has been well maintained (or refurbished). It was conveniently located to downtown Chiang Mai. Not walking distance but easy ride and most taxis knew how to get there. It is a beautiful establishment. The staff is extremely helpful and accomodating. We booked an excursion late, too late for a proper tour company to pick us up so the concierge became tour guide and driver. Took us on our excursion and managed all the venue tickets and show schedules. I know that he took the fee but even so, in all my years of travel, when we have been late we have just been told no. It was refreshing to be treated so well. The only complaint I had was about the shower and the jacuzzi. It was a romantic getaway for us. The outdoor shower was beautiful (lapis blue tiles, hand carved mahogany shutters and doors) however getting hot water was problematical. There was a shower wand in the jacuzzi so we pretty much ended up showering there. The jacuzzi was sized for four but there was not enough hot water available to fill it in order for just 2 of us to use it. We figured it out but it was not convenient or quick and my wife...well when it got complicated she just wanted to forget it. Once I got it working and warm it was nice...See through screen to city skyline and open to the stars...but we only used it as a jacuzzi twice in 5 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario Canada

Needs updating

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The staff were wonderful. Very happy and eager to be helpful. The hotel decor is very rich with dark wood everywhere and many intricate carvings. Very beautiful. That said, the room was very dated. The carpets were quite stained and really need to be replaced completely. The tiles in the bathroom need a good cleaning and the curtain around the hot tub looked like rags hanging from a string. The room had all the amenities you need but really needs some updating. The breakfast was decent and you can get made-to-order items along with the buffet. They had good coffee which has been hard to find on our trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Not quite, loud bar and 3 am rooster calls

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Cons: Replace the torn drapes, noise-proof the rooms, notify guests of mosquito spraying
We booked 4 nights, but stayed only 2 and moved to the Rustic River Boutique - it was much much much better. The first night we stayed in a Lanna suite on the 5th floor. The bar across the street was very loud until 1 am. Then a rooster cockadoodledooed from 3 am until 8 am every 5-10 minutes each morning. We did not get any sleep. The second night we asked to be moved to another room that was not bar facing. Still the rooster woke us up at 3 am. The windows do not close and there are 1-2 inch cracks in each window or door to the outside which means were heard everything happening on the outside in our hotel room. You can hear the rooster next door from all areas in the hotel. It is unnerving. During the daytime, a man sprays mosquito repellent inside of the hotel with a gas-powered leaf blower. The hotel did not tell us about the spray. I walked into the hallway to see what the noise was and got a lungfull of spray. I felt dizzy and my throat hurt for the rest of the day. Additionally, upon our arrival at the airport, the free car service lost their keys and we were forced to take a cab. The hotel did pay for a cab ride, but it was very unprofessional. Do not be tempted by the glorious hot tubs. Once you are in the room you will not want to enjoy them.
2 out of 5
by BINSOO

Misleading hotel rating

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is an old classic hotel. It is poorly maintained and upkept along the years. For example, door lock and wash basin tap are loose and noisy. Internet photos give a misleading rating of 4 stars. Requested morning call at 6.30am and instead was called at 7am. Offered me to take tuk tuk to airport at 7.30am because driver started work at 8am. But finally receptionist drove me. After a full day of tour and wanted dinner at 9pm. But was told it was cook offday. I will take the hotel as 3 stars value.
4 out of 5
by Souhel

Nice stay!

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant time, staff is very kind, rooms are very spacious, bath tub was working perfectly! Only bémol : location is quite far from places of interest (tuk tuk mandatory) and hotel needs a bit of refreshing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little dated but overall ok

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were ok. Not super knowledgeable and spoke limited English. Caused a bit of a headache.
5 out of 5
by Jordan

helpful staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
great room