Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Only advantage 5 min walking distance to night market
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
No facilities. Breakfast too limited and not nice. Rooms too small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and worth the price paid

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
The location of Star Hotel Chiangmai is convenient for night market and the room rate is worth for the room size, king size bed and good spread of breakfast variety for the guests. Special thanks to Baitong from the Reservation department who assisted throughout my email enquiries, romantic set-up in our room and accommodate our last minute hiccups.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Haunted hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
The toilet light was switched off while I was taking a bath, and no one was in the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Average Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Very Close from Night Market and friendly staff, That's good point for me.
Cons: Room & Facility very old, Bed mattress was really hard not confortable for me.
Location: Night Market
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was conveniently located for Night Bazaar and Night Markets. An easy walk to find food, drinks, shopping and entertainment. There was some black spots on the tiles in the shower. Mould I guess. The carpet was dirty. Dirt that a vacuum will not remove. The room was big the bed comfortable. Wi-Fi not good in our room but better outside. We didn't eat or drink in the hotel as we had friends nearby in other hotels. Apart from the notes above it was clean and comfortable and convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chiang Mai

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Very close to night markets, markets , eateries, restuarants, entertainment all close buy.
Locality - Brilliant. Everything located close by - Markets, Food Stalls, Entertainment , Restuarants, other Major Hotels and various stores. Checkin was very smooth and recieved 1 key. We asked for 2 keys so we could have 1 each but was told " No, only one per room" . That makes it difficult if your both have different things to do in the city, Room - Clean, dated and basic but was comfortable able. The television worked, picture good & could access English /thai shows. However, no hairdryer available or iron. Also only 2 pillows available on a very very big bed. Staff - Not very customer focused and attentive. They seemed to be unable to help if asked . E.g.: Asked if they have the number for a taxi service : " No, Go see tour desk". We go to tour desk , But lady chatting to another person who worked at hotel and when we asked for taxi number she said " I do tour only". We went out to road and found out own transport after that. So the staff once checked in basically leave you alone and are only there for show I feel. We stayed 2 nights. In 2 weeks time we will be back at this hotel for 2 weeks ( already booked & payed for it before this visit) so I will be bringing Iron, pillows, hair dryer. We live just outside of Chiang Mai and choose this hotel for its locality for somewhere to say whilst family visited from overseas so we can spend time in city with them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid!

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Pay a few more dollars and stay in another place. Stains on bed and towel. Carpet on the floor feels sticky and dirty - indoor slippars not provided and you have to request for it. Furniture is old, badly needs a refurbishment. This place looks nothing like the photos.