Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Only advantage 5 min walking distance to night market
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
No facilities. Breakfast too limited and not nice. Rooms too small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Average Hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Very Close from Night Market and friendly staff, That's good point for me.
Cons: Room & Facility very old, Bed mattress was really hard not confortable for me.
Location: Night Market
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chiang Mai

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Very close to night markets, markets , eateries, restuarants, entertainment all close buy.
Locality - Brilliant. Everything located close by - Markets, Food Stalls, Entertainment , Restuarants, other Major Hotels and various stores. Checkin was very smooth and recieved 1 key. We asked for 2 keys so we could have 1 each but was told " No, only one per room" . That makes it difficult if your both have different things to do in the city, Room - Clean, dated and basic but was comfortable able. The television worked, picture good & could access English /thai shows. However, no hairdryer available or iron. Also only 2 pillows available on a very very big bed. Staff - Not very customer focused and attentive. They seemed to be unable to help if asked . E.g.: Asked if they have the number for a taxi service : " No, Go see tour desk". We go to tour desk , But lady chatting to another person who worked at hotel and when we asked for taxi number she said " I do tour only". We went out to road and found out own transport after that. So the staff once checked in basically leave you alone and are only there for show I feel. We stayed 2 nights. In 2 weeks time we will be back at this hotel for 2 weeks ( already booked & payed for it before this visit) so I will be bringing Iron, pillows, hair dryer. We live just outside of Chiang Mai and choose this hotel for its locality for somewhere to say whilst family visited from overseas so we can spend time in city with them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Golfing trip in Chiangmai with 7 friends

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location location and PRICE
Cons: TV and AC can be better. Breakfast same choices of food in 5 days
7 of us head for golf trip in Chiangmai. We played 6 rounds in 7 days and stayed in Star Hotel. A pleasant stay for budget travelers. As we spent most of the time in golf course so we were not concerned with the lack of facilities.The hotel location is perfect .Shops restaurants bars massage are all nearby. Cannot complain on the location. Staff very good too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Star hotel Chiang mai

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Clean but a little bit old,the staff is good with a few english language skills, good location and good breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei, Taiwan

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. It was within walking distance of everything pretty much.
Cons: The room lighting was a bit dim, and some complimentary toothbrushes would have been nice.
Location: It's right next to Loi Kroh, with all of it's restaurants, bars, and massage spas.
The service and cleanliness at the Star make it a bargain. It has a good location, and provides good connections to all the local tourism.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Pleasant hotel close to Night Baazar and all shops

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good hotel for price , only needs to do better double beds and bedding and have more pillows otherwise great value hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and free upgrade

Posted Aug 9, 2016
A few steps away from the night bazaar. Walkable to the inner city. Free upgrade given to a nice big room with a great view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Location as it was near some of attractions.
Cons: The hotel needs a makeover. Even the lifts smelt weird.
Location: Night bazaar and fast food outlets were near.
Unwashed Pillows in the room. Had to buy an air freshner as the room smelt bad. Toilets were so small and hadly has space to move around. It wasnt a king bed. It was 2 single beds joint together.