Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, Australia

old town boutique hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: This has all the bones of a lovely hotel. It is a beautiful building in a very nice setting and some of the staff, particularly in the dining room wer
Cons: The pool area lets the hotel down somewhat. Decking needs repair and sunlounge cushions are old and worn. Sun umbrellas would provide some shade.
A 3 day stop over with our son and his partner to Chiang Mai from Bangkok. Check in was a little awkward as we were asked for our Thai Departure cards as well as passports which I hadn't come across previously. Not all of our party had this as they were living in Bangkok and then we were told it didn't matter. Our room had a construction site immediately outside the window and after (the first time ever) I complained we were moved and given a free upgrade. These rooms should either not be advertised, advertised at a reduced rate or the hotel could give automatic upgrade which would put them on the front foot from the get go. So once again we felt awkward as we are not ones to complain. The pool water stung eyes and skin and pH & chlorine details hadn't been updated on the signage for a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, NY

Sanctuary in the middle of Chiang Mai

Posted May 21, 2017
De Naga is the perfect sanctuary in the middle of Chiang Mai - it was unbelievable how peaceful and quiet it was, knowing that we were literally in the middle of the city. The hotel is perfectly located for site seeing, being within walking distance to many of the major markets. The food was quite good for hotel food (but the competition is high!), and the service consistently excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, old Lanna style hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Location!! Style - lobby/commons area Staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Markets Restaurants Temples
We stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. The hotel is in the perfect location - in Old City, walkable to most markets, and many temples and attractions. Staff was surprisingly young for a hotel of this quality, but always very helpful when needed. Breakfast was good - large selection of pastries, fruit, other plus opportunity to order eggs, bacon, french toast, etc. each morning. Did not eat dinner here. The lobby and commons areas are old Lanna style, really beautiful with lots of wood, oriental artwork/statues/paintings, and tons of greenery. Be prepared to hear the same 2-3 songs over and over around the hotel,1 in particular (think massage parlor oriental music). The room was ok but nothing special - overall clean but not luxurious and required key insertion for electricity/AC to work (which meant truly cooling off the room required an hour of being there first). We had a few minor issues (soap was rancid in the shower), but overall had a very pleasant stay here and would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahamas

Great hotel in a convenient location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The hotel had all that it promised. Staff were excellent, breakfast was good, gym was adequate, and location was close to restaurants and bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Quaint hotel in the old city....it has a pool!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Quiet retreat within the old city.
Cons: The burger promotional sign by the pool does little to add to the ambience. There was evidence that some needed repairs and upkeep were underway.
Location: Being located just inside the Thapae gate, the hotel is convenient for anyone looking to walk the old city and near the Sunday night market.
Upon arrival at Chiang Mai airport, we were greeted by a driver and driven to the hotel. The reception was pleasing however, we were a little early and our room wasn't ready... so we dropped off our luggage and explored the area. Once checked in we found the room to be spacious and comfortable. The included buffet breakfast more than met our needs (there is an omelette station). The hotel pool is one of the smallest we have encountered anywhere. However, it did offer a refreshing dip after a hot day in Chiang Mai. The Sunday night market starts just one short block from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charming hotel in great location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
We booked the Naga for our first trip to Chiangmai based on the overwhelming good reviews on trip advisor. This hotel delivers on every level. Upon walkin in, my first remark was how it looks exactly like the pictures on the internet. It's a moderate sized boutique hotel with unique and charming traditional Thai decors. Our deluxe room was as roomy as it was comfy, and very neat. Breakfast is served from 6-10 Am. ( most morning I was running out of bed at 9:30 am to catch it because the food is delicious!!) I could never get enough of their pastries. The location of this hotel was also a very high point for us. Located about a mile or so from city center, it has a decent amount of Restaurent and bars right outside your door. It's a 10 min walking distance to the night market. Or about 100 Baht ( the equivalent of about $3) by taxi or tuk-Tuck. The staff is very polite and helpful when it came to either booking tours or getting a local's opinion on the best way to get to other part of towns. Overall our experience was positive and this hotel is nothing short of excellence!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 23, 2017
It's a nice place, clean rooms, nice pool...the staff are very friendly and the hotel it's good located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Cons: The pool is very small
Ideally placed within the old city making it easy to get to all the sites. Good choice of local restaurants. Located off the road in a quiet position, so no traffic noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bermuda

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Good location, clean, helpful staff. Comfortable room, although some non-smoking rooms on first floor are right besides the courtyard where everyone smokes, so smoke ends up coming into room when going in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location. Wonderful staffs

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel De Naga. Staffs are friendly and always ready to help. Room is nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is good and the service is superb. Everything is perfect!