Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Hotel is in a great location next to a very busy mall with an amazing food court. Pool is very large and luxurious Hotel feels very Grand when you enter very beautiful large lobby. Elvis sings every night till 10 p.m. in the lobby little noisy if you're trying to go to bed early
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated but clean

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Like every hotel in south east Asia, there were mold in the bathroom. The whole hotel showed its age, I would guess early 80s. Pros: - staff were pleasant and eager to please - rooms were large - good view Cons: - dated appearance - safe were at the reception area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BK

Grand hotel may old but close central city.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lanna style room, may ancient but overall so good. Breakfast is less more menu and simply taste. The elevator less than hotel guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Bygone era

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Charm.
Cons: Buffet breakfast is a little mundane.
Well maintained old hotel that has "bygone era" charm. It adjoins Kad Suan Kaew shopping centre & is within songtau access of central Chiang Mai. Unfortunately, Kad Suan Kaew is a centre in serious decline - unable 2 compete with 3 recently opened competitors. I rate the hotel @ three & a half stars. Still worth a visit. Especially if one can visit @ "low season" rates. Staff were very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Nice staff and that was it. Roaches in the room, broken air conditioning (twice), pillows as hard as rocks, and rooms in desperate need of upgrades. Location next to the mall was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne,Australia

nice hotel next to shopping mall,not far from airp

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: huge ,quiet and very convenient
Cons: English could help,but then,you are in Thailand
Location: peaceful,close to everything,shopping & food very good.tasty & cheap,had a lovely time,thanks to Expedia good choice
had a good time,next to shops open till late,good shopping & food,huge swimming pool,good for relaxing,close to everything Good choice Expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular old style Thai hotel.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Location: Great location, part of an old style mall, so there's lots to do.
Our room was large, a little dated, but had a sitting area and a great view. Think 'faded rose from days gone by'. Breakfast was a disappointment, no decent western options offered. The lobby and downstairs area is really amazing, all the rooms look into an atrium. My advice to the front lobby staff is to allow guests access to their room when they arrive, they had this 'thing' that you could not get into your room until 3pm, despite the fact that the hotel was empty and lots of rooms were already. We did however get to our room early as we had to go to the nearby hospital and they were kind to let us in. However I did see many unhappy travelers told to put their suitcases 'over there' and wait until 3pm. This is not the way you treat folks in a 4 star hotel. If the rooms are ready, for goodness sake, let people go into them. We have stayed in many hotels, over many years, and we've always been allowed access to the room if it was available, despite the 'official' check in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
One of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Spacious, nice pool, lack of maintenance

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: I like the spacious room, big swimming pool, great location.
Cons: bad management, the washroom is dirty, stains everywhere, some of the staffs not friendly, especially the one to keep our luggage after check-ou
Location: next to a old shopping centre Kad Suan Kaew, with Top Supermarket. take 10 - 15 tuk tuk to old town and around 15-20 mins walk to Nimman area.
stayed here for 6 nights. great loaction, big room, nice pool. breakfast was so so. Old, huge and beautiful hotel, but lack of maintenance.
3 out of 5
by Giacomo

Get what you pay for.. assuming you got a discount

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
We unfortunately needed internet and the hotel does not have that. Seemingly not in any room because many guests were complaining about that. Internet in the lobby was spotty so we were only able to work when the Starbucks was open.