Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great value

Posted May 28, 2017
We found the Rim Resort too be a tremendous value. Facilities we're nice. We stayed in a suite, Rm #131. Large, comfortable, clean well laid out, big patio, 2 big screen tv's. WiFi was a little bit tricky sometimes but I'm a complete tech nitwit. Breakfast was good & had a little variety most days. We even ate lunch & dinner there once or twice. It never disappointed & we never got sick. The greatest attribute of the Rim Resort however is without a doubt the kind, curteous, knowledgeable, helpful staff which insured all of our wants & needs were met. They were incredible. We originally booked for 4 days and ended up staying for 10. We already miss it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the quite side of the old city

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Overall great hotel. Breakfast was ok but can be improved. Location is on the quite side of the old city. Service was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle ! Australia

Old world classic

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The staff and the amenities were second to none. Close to the Sunday Walking Market , a must go.
Cons: We were on the 3rd floor. A lot of steps and no lift. It was ok for us but may be a consideration for some when booking.
Location: Not particularly close to the shops or restaurants but we walked about and rode a Tuk Tuk back.
Hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. A welcome drink from the bar a lovely surprise. Our room was clean and comfortable. A bath as wall as a shower a nice change. The pool area was a quiet oasis to cool off after a day of sightseeing. A free shuttle bus to the markets was well utilised.
4 out of 5
by Susan

Quiet paradise in the Old City

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The resort itself is beautiful and blends in with the local architecture. We stayed on the ground floor and found our room quiet and comfortable, meeting the expectations we had for the room. The breakfast included had a good variety of items, including freshly made espresso (not from powder). We ate at the hotel restaurant once, and it was good enough/reasonably priced. The staff were courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable. I would recommend this place if you are planning to stay in Old City.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Holiday,

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
would love come back for re-visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

4 days in Chiang Mai

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was excellent. Room was very quiet. The best hotel of the many hotels I stayed in while in Thailand. The staff were very friendly.
Location: Close to the night market, cooking schools, Temples and good restaurants.
Check in was efficient, room was spacious and clean. Very quiet at night. Breakfast was delicious. Hotel close to good restaurants, spas, shopping etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Orbitz
This is a very good hotel; the room is large, if a bit too dark; not enough lighting in the room, and there could be another chair or two and a desk. We had the large room, which was very comfortable with a nice small terrace. The hotel has a very small workout area, but sufficient for one or two people. the location on the edge of the old city is good. The service is fine, and they try to go out of their way in answering your questions and giving advice. I recommend it highly: not five star; but certainly 4.5 stars. There is no lift, so if you have mobility problems, stay on the first floor. It has a nice, but not too small, pool: large enough to do a bit of swimming. I found the breakfast selections to be fair; not as good as other hotels I have stayed at in Thailand, and they cut some corners, such as dispensing soap and shampoo through the large dispensers you find in gyms in the States. But that's small potatoes, compared to the service, the room and the location. I would certainly say here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Bedsheets & pillow case doesn't feel clean (smell)

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pillow cases smell oily. They probably need to change all pillow cases to new cos new ones also have a bit of oil hair smell. other than that the place is decent, clean & tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very friendly

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness of staff
Cons: Choice of breakfast and better explanation of options available, i.e. We were not aware that omelettes were available upon request.
Location: Walking distance to local Wats and the old city
Staff are friendly and soon get to recognise you. Breakfast choice was a bit limited, but can't complain for the price we paid.