Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Cathy from Vermont

Magnificient venue, shame about the service

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here for the first time 8 years ago, and although expensive at the time ... "I was staying at a Castle in Tuscany :-)”!!! The service was superb back then, unfortunately, the same cannot be said for my most recent stay; minimal effort was made by the reception staff, when you could get their attention, and we saw no one else. The dinner menu is posted far too late in the day to allow you to make a decision as to whether to eat there, rather than the area you are exploring. The one night we did have dinner in the restaurant, everyone seemed to have been given a table at the same time, but there were inadequate staff to be able to cope with this; although the food was good when we eventually got it. We were staying in a self-catering apartment, but we chose to have breakfast one day with the other guests, as we were able to eat outdoors and enjoy the beautiful scenery surrounding us. It was 12 Euros per person, which would have been worth it if there was some hot food (e.g. eggs, bacon, sausages, or pancakes, etc.), rather than just a cold buffet. I believe that guests should be warned to hire a car with all-wheel drive. We had a Fiat Panda which really struggled to get both in and out of the property’s half mile driveway, due to it’s steepness in a few places and 95% dirt road. We enjoyed our stay overall, but are not likely to be returning to this venue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avslappende og historisk

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Det var som å komme mange hundre år tilbake i tid da vi kom inn på rommet vårt, det var veldig flott. Omgivelsene var flotte. Hotellet hadde svømmebasseng og en flott "slottshage". Den fireretters middagen var ikke helt etter min smak. Frokosten var bra.
5 out of 5
by Juan Pablo from Guadalajara


Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels
Todo estuvo excelente, es difícil llegar ahí pero una vez que llegas todo cambia, el ambiente, la alberca y el castillo son de lo mejor, sin dejar aún lado el vino y la comida. Recomiendo ampliamente sea visitado.
4 out of 5
by GB Traveller from NE England

Off the beaten track

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels
We arrived in a torrential storm and access to the hotel reception is not good, even in good weather you cannot get direct access to the entrance, you are expected to park your car in the car park, 100 meters away .We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the tower suite which was fabulous, but had to ask for the heating to be put on as given the weather the suite was cold. Eventually the suite did warm up but we were obliged to keep the heating on throughout the night. We would be concerned if we were planning to stay during the colder months of the year. The restaurant was disappointing given the price of the hotel. There was no choice of evening meal, no a la carte menu, we were obliged to eat the set menu , and there was no choice within that menu.The food was OK but nothing special given the 40 euro price tag, It was quite a basic meal.Given the location of the hotel, we had no inclination to go out to the nearest village to seek an evening meal .Overall we thought the hotel/meal was overpriced, we felt the restaurant certainly let the hotel down.
3 out of 5
by CK from NC

Needs update

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels
Castello di Tornano is a cool place to stay for 2 to 3 days. The location is in the middle of the Chianti region. It takes about 25 minutes to high way. You need to drive about 1.5 miles unpaved road to the hotel. The service is great. The chef, Manuele, is great cook and very nice. He even came to cook for couple of guests on his day off because they arrived late and needed something to eat. My wife and I stayed in one of the apartments, not in the main castle and it's lack of update in the apartment. The bathroom is really outdated. The wifi works in the main building, but not in the apartments. We couldn't get the wifi in the fist floor in our room, and we only get 1 bar of signal on second floor sometimes. In order to get better signal, we have to raise our hand sometime on second floor in order to get better signal. It shouldn't be so difficult to fix the wifi issue, but they didn't even try to improve.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle Getaway

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Pros: Victor,who hosted the on site wine tasting, was exceptional!
Location: A little off the beaten path...we used it as a base to visit Siena and even Florence....You do need a car to get around.
An amazing place! We found peace and quiet, it was the perfect place to regroup after the hustle and bustle of Rome and Venice. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments, and it was the perfect size for our family of four. Our two boys loved the idea of staying at a castle with a pool and my husband and I loved the gourmet meals and terrific wine! The scenery/background was breathtaking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

meget tilfreds

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville Ontario Canada

Beautiful sights of the surrounding Chianti hills

Posted Oct 24, 2011 on Hotels
We enjoyed our short stay at the hotel. Our room had its own private balcony facing west to enjoy the late afternoon sun and sunet. The evening meal was very good, just the right amount of food, and the pace of bringing the meal made for a quiet, relaxing and romantic setting. We would have liked to have the hottub a warmer so we could have used it at night as we were there in October. We loved the story of the cat and how she came to be at the hotel. We would recommend a stay here to our friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Castello di Tornano Summer

Posted Jul 15, 2011 on Hotels
A nice hotel, however not great if you are bringing children, or have food preferences. The hotel rooms were quite pretty. We found them hot in the summer time as there is no Air conditioning. It would be better to visit any other time but summer. The place is pretty isolated so you are at the mercy of the hotel for food - which is pricy and you have no choice for dinner for the menu or time you eat! The chef appeared quite arrogant. The other staff were very nice.