Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel provides good service with nice food and comfortable environment. Pity have no time to try the wine tasting and cooking class. A good place to stay next time !
4 out of 5
by Sam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Julie from Basingstoke

Lovely room

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Short break to relax and see friends
5 out of 5
by Zheng from Geneva, Switzerland

Very peaceful nice hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed overnight, had dinner in the restaurant. Staff are very friendly, room is very clean, dinner food was excellent and good service. Hotel is located just outside of the town, very quiet, one can take a walk in the hill. It has a very nice pool, but it was too cold to use it in March anyway.
4 out of 5
by Pamela from Attenschwiller

Wouldn't hesitate to return to this little gem....

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Initially we were disappointed as, on arrival, we were informed that the gym was closed due to the building of a spa. As the gym was one of the reasons for,choosing this hotel, it was annoying for the receptionist to inform me that we should have called them to,check if it was open! However, the rest of the time in the hotel was fabulous. Restaurant was excellent and can highly recommend the romantic dinner for 2 in the wine cellar. We celebrated our anniversary there and it was a delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, England

Lovely place to stay when visiting Tuscany.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel manages to combine modern amenities in a very attractive and well designed setting with excellent staff.
Cons: Our room had one or two minor problems which were fixed immediately. The pool was a bit noisy in the late afternoon when it got busy.
Location: Very well located for visiting Siena, Florence, San Gimingnano and the Chianti region.
I used this hotel on a trip earlier this year and liked it so much we decided to have a week of our holiday here this Summer. It did not disappoint. The whole place is really tastefully designed with delightful staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to introduce you to Tuscan living. The restaurant staff are particularly good, recommending great local wines, giving little treats at the end of dinner and genuinely wanting you to enjoy your holiday. It was very hot while we were there, so the excellent air conditioning was a huge benefit and the rooms are comfortable with nice shady terraces and excellent bathrooms. The pool is also lovely, set in a nice garden with stunning views in both directions and a cooling afternoon breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire,England

Touring Holiday of Italy

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Good quality comfortable accommodation.Very helpful staff.Lovely swimming pool.Nice food.
Cons: Perhaps the restaurant selection.
Location: Florence,Tuscany etc
We stayed at the Hotel on two dates during our recent touring holiday of Tuscany,Rome,Naples etc.We have stayed here previously and find the Hotel offers excellent accommodation and facilities.The Hotel is well located for exploring Tuscany and Florence and environs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing Experience

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was top notch, the grounds and pool were gorgeous and the food and wine were excellent! It also is a quick drive to a few lovely vineyards.
Cons: The central air conditioning could be stronger or put screens on the windows so you can open them without bugs getting in.
Location: Visit Barberino Val d'elsa which is a magical little town less than a mile away and eat at Osteria il Campanellino its an unforgettable experience.
There are really no words to describe the beautiful experience we had at Borgo di Contefreda. It was truly a little bit of heaven. The staff is excellent, they treat you like royalty! The breakfast spread was delicious and so were their cafe lattes. The restaurant for dinner in the evening is also an excellent choice, the food was so fresh and tasty as were the wines. As a note, it was a little difficult getting there for us because the address was not accurately pinpointed on the GPS. However we got close and called reception and they talked us through how to get there which was less than a mile away. I would suggest getting that information mapped out clearly before driving there to save yourself a little anxiety.
5 out of 5
by Jorge from philadelphia

beautiful hotel in Tuscany

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great Hotel - we booked within a week of our trip to Italy without knowing much about it based in the comments we had read and were not disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great family retreat

Posted Jul 9, 2014
lovely 4 days spent in the Tuscan countryside. location and view are excellent, close to nice vineyards, restaurants and great drives.