Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Natalie from Toronto

Honeymoon

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel as one of the stops for our honeymoon. We picked it as a way to be close to Florence without having to drive into Florence as we had a car and wanted to be on a winery. The hotel itself is very beautiful - it's got a pink wash to it which is very different and has lots of sculptures and interesting gardens and pools. The breakfast also was very good and the staff very courteous. The cons are that it really isn't walking distance to anything and very expensive onsite meaning you're either going to shell out a lot on site for dinner or have to drive into the nearest town for food (vs. In other Tuscan hotel vineyards we stayed that were very close to a town so you can walk and have a selection of options). The hotel also has a bit of an air of pretension to it. It's not overly obvious and I can't fully put my finger to describe why but I did tend to feel a little less at home here vs out other stops on the honeymoon.
4 out of 5
by Samuel from UK

Great but be careful

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at the hotel and it is as lovely as ever. The grounds, amenities and views are excellent. My concern was that half the hotel was often booked out (spa, terrace, one pool etc) for functions and were therefore out of bounds. Which I find strange to advertise these as benefits to the hotel yet have no access to them! More worryingly was the lack of service you got as the events took place as we were often left alone and no service for basic things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The tranquility of the place.
Cons: Room allocation for wedding guests
Most enjoyable 3 day wedding reception. Seemed to be confusion over room allocation for wedding guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay but food should be better

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Well presented hotel, very luxurious, stunning location. Wine tour of onsite vineyard followed by tasting is excellent. Food at restaurant was a real let down, very average and overpriced. We were disappointed.
5 out of 5
by John from Lemont, IL

Awesome!

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Love this place. Stayed in the main Villa and couldn't be happier. Classy accomodations, great service, great food, delicious wine, great view, GOOD TIME!!!
4 out of 5
by Jonathan Egan from Shanghai

A great couple's getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
All-round, this was a wonderful stay. We wanted a peaceful get-away after our busy wedding down in the south of Italy, and this facilitated that, chilling by the pool and reading our books on massive sun beds and sun loungers that were so comfy. This was the best part. Although I knew I was going to have to put my hands in my pockets I did think that the food here was over-priced for relatively simple dishes. In all my years travelling I have never seen a 5 star resort ask to pay extra for the eggs at breakfast!!! 5 euro for 2 boiled eggs, and 10 euro for an omelette!!! Seriously?!?!?! I could scarcely believe this, but in fairness the rest of the breakfast was excellent. The internet was a bit of a pain as in the mornings they shut it down to reset it and seeing as I had to do a small bit of work each morning this did escalate my stress levels. But would I go back here again? Yes I would.
5 out of 5
by Fiona from Taiwan

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
It's a beautiful place and friendly workers . They even help to provide lunch When We came late afternoon . Highly recommended !!!
5 out of 5
by Bill

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
A perfect Tuscan getaway
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

A little bit of heaven!

Posted Sep 30, 2007
After having booked from only an on-line review and photo, I was beyond pleasantly surprised to see this place exceeded all of my expectations. I described it as "South Beach meets Tuscany". A historic villa and winery with all the modern luxuries and technology. The staff, the spa, the decor, the grounds and the view of Florence... the glass of champagne as you check in. I would recommend it to all of my friends, exept that we may want to keep this our little secret!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not impressed

Posted Sep 27, 2007
This hotel is nice but did not live up to our expectations in terms of service for a 4 star hotel. The staff were less than friendly or helpful. Our bed had broken prior to our stay and we were left to sleep on a very lopsided bed for the 1st night. Upon informing the hotel that it needed to be fixed we were asked to leave our room for 15 minutes so they could fix it (strangely it seemed as though they were alreday aware of the problem). We had to repeatedly ask about returning to our room and were not able to return for at least an hour and a half. Communication of a realsitic estimate of how long we had to leave our room for would have been appreciated (as we would have told them we were just going to shower and then leave for the day), an apology for the broken bed and very sore back it caused would have been appreciated and some form of refreshment (some water or coffee would have been nice while we were made to wait). When we asked for help with restaurants etc we were told someone would just print everything out for us- and hour later we had to make the request again. Enjoy the property but don't expect much in the way of friendly helpful service.