Ratings based on 1,755 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Spent a few days at the hotel while attending a conference. Great location near multiple restaurants, shopping, public transit. Staff was friendly, helpful and the room was great. Next time I'm in Chicago, that's where I'll stay again. Several places nearby to grab breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Minimalist hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Close to everything.
Cons: Insulate the walls - lots of noise.
Location: Three great grocery stores close by - Trader Joe's and Eataly are fabulous. All kinds of stores and restaurants within walking distance or by subway.
The hotel is close to everything in downtown Chicago, which is great. However the room is really small and there isn't much offered. There isn't even a small fridge - pretty standard for hotel rooms. Comfortable beds though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Fun Decor and Atmosphere

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly, amiable staff, good location, fun decor, great robes.
With its rock theme and somewhat industrial decor, ACME proved to be a fun and comfy choice for our one-night stay in town for a rock concert. It is a 7-minute walk from our venue (House of Blues) and walkable from Union Station. We were able to check in a little early, which was nice. The bed was comfy and the TV was big. The rainfall shower was nice and the shampoo smelled really good. The room was clean, the only negative being that one of us noticed a little grit in the bed. The morning thermos of coffee delivered to our door was a nice touch and welcome. I loved the robes.And the trapeze artist outside our window! I suppose it's possible that because there is no carpeting in the room, our feet could have picked up a little sand or dirt from the floor and transferred it to the bed. I wish hotels here would adopt the Japanese model of encouraging guests to remove their shoes upon entering the room and providing free disposable slippers to wear. Or install carpeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great value in a great location--and fun too!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The Acme Hotel Company was in a great central location near the Magnificent Mile, Eataly, and Shake Shack, among other places. Friendly staff started off a great experience. It is a bit of a quirky place with funky décor but it is clean and comfortable. My room was on the cozy side but certainly comfortable for my needs. Good sized bathroom with rainfall shower and fun red lips nightlight on my mirror! If you are looking for a great value in a central Chicago location and don't need a lot of space this is the place to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, issues with room.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice atmosphere.
Cons: Make sure everything works in the room before a guest checks in. Perhaps provide a full menu at the bar?
Front desk staff was great and accommodated my early check-in--also great. However, for whatever reason the temp control unit in my room was set to 78 degrees and I couldn't stay in there after checking in and the staff had to fix it. Then the smart TV would constantly randomly turn off and/or freeze. I tried using the cable stations and it would turn off. I tried signing into Netflix and the TV would freeze.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice Hotel for Young, Hip Crowd

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We chose ACME because we wanted a nice hotel in a hip, downtown area. We are only in our late 30s/early 40s, but we found the hotel lobby always noisy and crowded, the rooms incredibly small, and the walls very thin. We often heard people returning to their rooms at 2 AM. The room size was very small. There was no where to set a suitcase, no closet, no mini fridge, and barely room to walk around. The bed was comfortable and the shower was very nice. The location was fantastic, walking distance to many restaurants and bars and only a block from a red line station. We didn't appreciate the housekeeping schedule. While the room was clean, housekeeping came at almost 4:00 PM one day and we were resting so we asked them to come back, which they did not. But then the next day they came at 8:30 AM and we weren't even awake yet. I would think something like 10 AM to 3 PM for housekeeping should be observed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Hotel in a location near so many things

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: I really like the coffee delivery in the morning and the location
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Lots of restaurants as well as a place to get groceries. I was there for business, so didn't have an opportunity to check out entertainment.
Staff was wonderful. Friendly and efficient and the room was cleaned each day very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Only in Chicago a few nights. Small rooms, eclectic deco, great location. Parked the car on check in and just enjoyed the city on foot. Great staff, great AM coffee service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Excellent hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Super clean and dreamy beds that will give you a comfy night sleep after a long day out on the town ! Also, a newly updated whirlpool spa room all decked out with a ski lodge feel !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vermont

Convenient location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Staff were great.
Cons: The rooms were a little too dark. Less hip lighting, more standard lamps.
Location: Close to magnificent mile and a short walk to the bean.
A fun change from your standard hotel-if you're a fan of retro, this is the place to be. And even if you aren't, the staff is friendly, helpful-standard midwestern charm.