Ratings based on 3,240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Great location (close to grocery stores, bus stop/subway, tourist attractions), friendly staff
Cons: The walls are incredibly thin.
Location: Close to bus stops (i.e. on Michigan Ave), close to Roosevelt subway station. Trader Joe's and other grocery store are just around the corner.
We were prepared for the worst after reading the reviews but were pleasantly surprised when we saw our room (located on the 8th floor). I suspect our room was newly renovated, since everything in the washroom looked new. The room was decently clean, bed was very comfortable. Our room was a nice place to relax after a long day of out and about. The 8th floor is probably newly renovated comparing to some other floor hallways that look significantly more outdated. The walls are thin so we could hear the neighbor/hallway in our room, as well as the siren and train sounds outside. The railroads are not far from across the street, so you will definitely hear the sound of trains/subway in your room. We couldn't hear any construction sound on the 8th floor, but could definitely hear the chaos when we were at the lobby. The lobby doesn't look luxurious or anything, since it's in the midst of construction. There is not much space in the lobby area, but they used plywood to have a clear area as walkway and a reception area. The staff were very friendly, and smooth check-in and check-out process. They also happily stored our luggage before checking-in and after checking-out. I can see the hotel being a hit-or-miss depending on where your room is (i.e. if it's close to where they are doing construction) and the condition of your room (i.e. new or outdated). Not a luxurious hotel but if you are just looking for a place to relax/sleep at night, the location makes it a great choice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hammond IN

Good location, very easy parking.

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Pricing and location
Cons: Could use updating, which they were currently working on at the time.
Location: Close to museums, restaurants, parking. Lots of area attractions within walking distance.
Easy to get to and walking distance to many attractions. OK for an overnight to 2-night stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction and dirty rooms

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The staff was ok, but not friendly. Room was so dirty that I didn't want to walk barefoot on the carpet. The noise of the train didn't allow me to have any sleep as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No told of remodel..ignores customer @ desk

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Awful..not helpful @ all..no parking..no bell man..sometimes no one is @ desk or door man..took my own rack up to load my bags
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views with friendly service.

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Too much construction
Location: Bars and shopping plazas
This hotel was located 10 min in any direction from all attractions that Chicago has to offer. The staff was very curious and my experience there was worth the money. I will look forward to staying there in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First visit to Chicago

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide more information at front desk.
Location: It was across from the park and within walking distance to the Field Museum. The Yolk was next door.
The food was good. Most staff was helpful with information on places to eat, when asking about the hop on hop off bus they didn't give us much information. I t would have been helpful to a flier for bus information. The lobby was very small and torn up. The room temp varied a lot. It was either really cold or really hot, there never was a happy medium.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold Showers in Chicago Are Not Fun

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The location is very good. You can walk to the Field Museum, and a train stop is across the street. Kitty O'Shea's & Yolk are good nearby restaurants.
Cons: With this level of refurbishment, they should just close for a few weeks and get it done. Have a first aid kit available at the front desk.
Location: Kitty O'Shea's Irish Pub - Just stay at the Hilton in the same building, 2 blocks down. Yolk is good for breakfast (but pricey). Field Museum
I have no problem with a modest hotel, but I feel they should have notified us of the very extensive construction they were doing in the lobby. We walked down a plywood tunnel to the front desk, and the rest of the hotel has not been updated since the late 80s or early 90s. The carpet was threadbare, walls peeling in places, and we could never get any hot water in the shower. The beds were comfortable, but the heat/air unit had only two settings... inferno or ice box. One degree up or down put you in Siberia or Hades. The door to the room was peeling off its wood veneer, and I cut my hand on it entering the room. When I went to the front desk, two women were working. One just stared, the other shrugged. Fortunately, someone else standing there had a band-aid so I could at least stop bleeding on the desk. We couldn't face another cold shower on a snowy Chicago day, so we checked out a day early. When I requested a refund for the unused night, they told me I would have to get it online since that is where I made my reservation. Of course, online referred me back to the hotel, which has not replied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

サウスループ、ルーズベルト駅近くのロケーションが思った以上によいホテル。

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: 仕事主体で行く場合、ロケーションは良好。川向うまでは、地下鉄が必要だが、アクセスは悪くない。
Cons: 冷蔵庫があると助かる。
Location: サウスループ、ルーズベルト駅近くのホテル。徒歩3分。近くには、朝食で人気のYorkや、シティダイナーなどのほか、Trader Joe'sもあり、便利。やや川向うの「キタ」からすれば、さみしさはあるが、不便はあまりない。シカゴ交響楽団のコンサートホールまでも徒歩可能圏内。ループ内までは、歩けます。
フロント対応は、良好。バスタブは、少なくとも宿泊した部屋には、ありました。清掃も行き届いていました。朝食の設定が、レストランがないため不可能である。あればもっと便利ではあります。ただし、近くには、朝食で人気のYorkや、シティダイナーなどのほか、Trader Joe'sもあり、ビジネスならなんとかなります。自分は、朝食をYorkにしました。 冷蔵庫がなかったので、買い込みをすることを想定すると、冷蔵庫があればもっといいと思います。古いのは否めないが、それも古きアメリカの風情と割り切ればOK。ホテルスタッフは、対応良好でした。 フロント対応は、良好。バスタブは、少なくとも宿泊した部屋には、ありました。清掃も行き届いていました。朝食の設定が、レストランがないため不可能である。あればもっと便利ではあります。ただし、近くには、朝食で人気のYorkや、シティダイナーなどのほか、Trader Joe'sもあり、ビジネスならなんとかなります。自分は、朝食をYorkにしました。 冷蔵庫がなかったので、買い込みをすることを想定すると、冷蔵庫があればもっといいと思います。古いのは否めないが、それも古きアメリカの風情と割り切ればOK。ホテルスタッフは、対応良好でした。 フロント対応は、良好。バスタブは、少なくとも宿泊した部屋には、ありました。清掃も行き届いていました。朝食の設定が、レストランがないため不可能である。あればもっと便利ではあります。ただし、近くには、朝食で人気のYorkや、シティダイナーなどのほか、Trader Joe'sもあり、ビジネスならなんとかなります。自分は、朝食をYorkにしました。 冷蔵庫がなかったので、買い込みをすることを想定すると、冷蔵庫があればもっといいと思います。古いのは否めないが、それも古きアメリカの風情と割り切ればOK。ホテルスタッフは、対応良好でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Clean and comfortable, the staff was wonderful. The renovations will be nice when completed. This is a gem worth renewing. I enjoyed being in walking distance of everything I wanted to do, including McCormick Place. Hotel staff were most accommodating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016
The hotel was being remodeled and it was just a mess the room was small for three people the room was not well kept