Ratings based on 3,731 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restaurant was the best area.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Restaurant.
Cons: Let someone know that you are remodeling?
Location: Good location but not good info on where to do things. Hotel maps were okay but not much info on how to use public transportation.
Facilities were being remodeled. No Gym, no pool, no balcony and no conversational staff except for one black guy. Water was turned off for 10 hours for repair. There was a constant noise in the bathroom like water continuously running.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. It sounds like we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry for that. We are currently undergoing enhancements to the property so I am sorry that all the facilities were not open. Also, I am sorry that the water was shut down for part of the day. in order to create a better guest experience we had to install all new machinery and I am sorry that impacted your stay. We do hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Nice staff. The room a little dusty. But overall nice hotel in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Tracy , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy you enjoyed our staff and I am sorry the room is dusty. We appreciate the feedback in hopes that we can improve on this and be great for you next time you visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The only issue I had was not being able to get a refund for a room I didn't want to stay in. I accidentally booked for the wrong night and tried to cancel the hotel on the app after already arriving at the hotel to find out I booked the wrong night. So not only did I have no choice but to pay for it my only other option was to have it for a different night and I wasn't going to be able to come back to Chicago before I left the state.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the information on your reservation. I am sorry that we were not able to refund you for the wrong reservation. We do try to work with all guests when an error is made and try to resolve it. We do hope that you enjoyed your stay in Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, easy to get to all key venues.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Would it be possible to get curtains to muffle the street noise. Construction next door very loud in a.m..
Location: All the key sites of Chicago.
Very satisfied with hotel, but the morning construction noise was frustrating and very loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that you were disturbed in the morning. I know they make light cancelling curtains I will definitely pass the the idea along to our management team. We are very happy that you liked the location and cleanliness and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the loop

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Great quiet hotel between museum campus and downtown. Walking distance to points of interest and places to eat. The L and subway is less than a five minute walk too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review us. Our location is awesome and we are glad you got to enjoy it as well. Please come back and visit any time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Awesome location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Awesome location and great value. Views are awesome with huge windows. Very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Tracy., Hotel Management
Thank you for the review.... I love the windows also and I'm not just saying that cause I work here. We are so glad you had a great stay and hope to see you in the future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

What a mess

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Location: Close to a lot of things but get ready to walk!
We check into the hotel nearly at 10pm after driving all day with a 18 month old, only to be told that they can only give us one key. After getting to our room, we find that our key card doesn't work. Three trips downstairs later, maintenance finally lets us in. The next night was the same story and resulted in maintenance working on our door at nearly 9pm while we were trying to bathe and put the baby to bed. Everyone was very friendly but it was just a big inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am so sorry that you had to experience this while you stayed with us. This is not usual practice for us and I am sorry you went through that. I do see that you did speak with our staff at check out and I hope you will consider staying with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing fancy, good location

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Enjoyed the hotel. Good value for the money, except there was no hot water the first morning for showers. We called the front aND was told to let the water run longer. It ran for 30 min, and was very cold the whole time. My son and I had to take cold showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Tracy, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you had to let the water run and still had a cold shower. Thank you for letting us know. I know that is an unpleasant experience and I hope the rest of your stay was great. We hope to see you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Very accommodating and friendly.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great!!! Everyone was super nice and accommodating. For the price, it was a great stay and about a 20 minute walk to the Bean. It was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Convenient and friendly staff.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Our refrigerator wasn't working and they immediately took it out and replaced it. So convenient to everything. The bed was super comfortable.
The convenience of this hotel is perfect for going to the museums in Chicago. Walkability and bus route right out the front door. Octavia was super helpful and such an awesome employee. The hotel could use a little sprucing up, but overall was very comfortable, close to shops and dining. We would definitely stay there again.