Ratings based on 1,819 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good price

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location, comfortable room.
Cons: Renovate elevators
Location: Near restaurants, Chicago public transportation - Red Line to Wrigley 3 blocks away.
This is a less expensive place in a good Chicago location. It's an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. Rooms are smaller but clean and comfortable. Staff is very helpful, parking is reasonable. Best Western is a good, reliable chain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: close to where we could walk to many activities
Cons: could have been cleaner
very loud inside, first hotel i have stayed at that i could hear the very loud people above me. Stayed at this hotel last year and the rooms were in better condition and seemed cleaner!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Well located, rms & halls offensive odors

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of odors. Newer A/C. Connect buildings on all floors, not just 4th floor. Make pool more accesible.
Location: Close enough to walk downtown. Close to lots of restaurants and shopping. El is also close by, as it Navy Pier.
The hotel is old and had offensive odors in all hallways and rooms. Rooms seemed clean but there was a bad smell in every one we were offered. Hallways smelled similar to a poorly kept nursing home. Most of the staff were friendly. One person in particular, Bajig, was especially helpful. She did her very best to find us a room where we would be comfortable. Water from our tub was always rusty when we first turned it on. Walls were very poorly insulated for sound and the air conditioners sounded like jets taking off. In our last room I had to put a chair between the bed and the A/C to block the cold air from blowing directly on me when I tried to sleep. A/C vents were not redirectable. When we checked out they charged us for 5 nights parking but we only had a car for 2 nights. Won't be staying there again. I don't know how they got such good reviews.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Who's room is this really ?

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Checked in and received a room key. Went to the room, unlocked the door and there sat a family of 4 !!!! They had been in the room already for a day, so the lady called the front desk. They told me to comedown and they'd straighten things out. So they just gave me a key to a room on another floor. It really was embarrassing. The next AM I called down to see if possible to stay another day... come down to desk, check out and ck in again into another room. This hotel was not very accommodating, I would never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Best Western Hotels & Resorts , Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Good cost/benefit

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Its location.
Location: Hard Rock Cafe is just a few feet away, it is a few blocks from the Magnificent Mile. Most touristy attractions are within 20-min walk.
This hotel provides good value for the money. Decent room and excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lake geneva

Great location.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Getting to the room was a little confusing. Staff should exlain, or a map would be beneficial.
Location: Loved location.
If you want a convienent location, this is it. Located on Ohio, near Michican Ave. , within walking distance to shopping and great restaurants. Modestly priced and great for a weekend get away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I thought $136 wasn't a bad price with $25 for parking for a hotel in Chicago. I stayed at this hotel years ago and was impressed not this time. Beds were very soft and small for a double bed. Noise of people walking halls or talking in other rooms. Wifi horrible. Kept losing connection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Staff was wonderful. Walking distance from almost everything in Downtown Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Brandon J, Hotel Management
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to you staying with us the next time you're in Chicago. Thank You
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Fantastic Location !!!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Entrance, food. Location
Cons: Quality towels, cleanliness. Extra touch like a chocolate on the bed. Something a little extra, special touch
Location: Joes reastaurant, miracle mile. All attractions
Expensive ! I get it ! Location, location. What I didn't get was scratchy thin towels that I wouldn't clean my car with. First time in shower there was hair on the tub. Our room was dusty, furniture is old. I was expecting much, much more from a Marriott. Next stay will be Trump tower or condo overlooking water. Water for guests could be on main floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Jabig. V, Hotel Management
good Morning, We are glad that you took the time to write a review about our hotel. In your review it does say "Marriott" We are the Best Western River North Hotel, nonetheless we are glad that you had a great time in the river north area and we definitely be taking all feedback and making sure we provide the best service for the next time you are in Chicago. We appreciate your time. Have a great day, Safe Travels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
I stayed one night. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Good service and food in adjoining restaurant. Noisy in the morning as a man was filling the vending machines at 7 am outside my room. Clean but odd smell in the hallways. Close to Michigan avenue; excellent location for walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Sharliese R. , Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and helpful staff. We do apologize for the noise disturbance and we will address the smell in the hallway with our housekeeping department. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!