Ratings based on 1,388 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morris, IL

Great hotel, great location

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The bed!
Cons: Walkway from parking deck into the hotel.
Location: Within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and entertainment.
Hotel was within walking distance to Space, which was very convenient for us. Large comfortable room recently renovated. The bed was extremely comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price okay

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Decent hotel. Quiet and clean. 6th foor overlooking part of the city was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great Location, Except Construction + Trains

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Best Western University Plaza is located right next to downtown Evanston, and everything is walking distance. The only reasons for my low reviews are the construction that seem to go on from 9am to 6pm, and the trains that can be heard on a nightly basis until midnight. While I understand the need for construction, perhaps they should schedule it for times the hotel is less occupied (for example, 11am to 7pm). The upgrades are absolulely necessary -- the walls are quite thin, and the elevators are slow and smelly. I look forward to returning after construction is completed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the El train

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The room was clean. The breakfast was included and there were choices even for people who eat a vegan diet.
Cons: One of their elevators was not working, but there were two that were
Location: We went to the art museum at North Western and the the Emil Bach house, which was close in Chicago.
It was easy to walk to the El to go into downtown Chicago. It is too expensive to park down there. We were close to North Western University, the lake and restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

great location, but that's all

Posted Aug 6, 2015
This hotel is conviently located in downtown Evanston, within walking distance of great food, shopping and the Northwestern University campus. It is undergoing a much-needed renovation, and it would have been better if they just closed the place down and reopened when they finished. The lobby and corridors are ominously dark. Our room was about half-renovated. The bathroom had all new fixtures and was very nice, but the furniture in the sleeping area was kind of a mess. The pieces were old, worn, and did not match one another. The beds had no headboards. There were no mirrors or wall decor of any kind. The contractor had installed our doorknob backward, so the handle had to be lifted up instead of pulled down. This, we learned the hard way from the maintenance man who had been sent to help us into our room. If it had been the only thing wrong, we could have laughed it off, but it was just too much.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

only if nothing else

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: the bed, I was very tired and needed sleep
Cons: new carpeting, much better ventilation.
Location: good location, near restaurants, pubs and other entertainment.
disappointing first experience, unclean smell in elevator, halls and carpeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Great room, comfortable bed, great view, great staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora, IL

One Not So Good Apple

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Spacious room, good view.
Cons: Air conditioning noisey. Need full length mirrow
Location: Excellent places to eat. Safe, active night life.
My wife and I had a nonsmoking room. We don't smoke. The check in clerk had me to sign a document that said that if they (Best Western staff) determined that one of us smoked in the room, they could levy a fee or fine against our credit card. The clerk did not give us a copy of that document. The next day at check out I asked the clerk, Meredith, for a copy of the document I signed. She said she couldn't give me a copy. It was for hotel staff only. My position is that if one is giving authorization for a capricious, and subjective deduction, the guest should be given a copy in the event one wants to dispute any charges. No I don't expect any charges, but it is the legality of this practice. Meredith was dismissive of my concerns...not so good apple.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Hotel is very old, the smell in a room.Stuff is not so friendly.And ,when you park your car,the ask you a sign paper about hotel not responsible for any stuff in a vehicles. For me the area is not safe....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Decent hotel near the El in nice suburban town.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to the El (2 blocks) and numerous restaurants.
Cons: The parking lot is really bad when it rains - huge, unavoidable puddles everywhere (but it looks like they are working on it).
Location: Walking distance to the El (2 blocks) and numerous restaurants.
This is an economy hotel. Our room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, but the room lacked amenities, even for an economy hotel: no microwave, no fridge and no electric outlet near the desk. Evanston is a very nice suburban town: very walkable with numerous restaurants and near the El and Lake Michigan. The free breakfast was surprisingly good with more choices and better quality than a typical free breakfast.