Ratings based on 3,444 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Lovely hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Efficient, modern rooms, excellent staff and great location
Cons: The lobby and halls are a bit dated, but I think those were due for renovation soon.
Location: A couple minute walk from the Orange Line (to Midway Airport), and about 10 or 15 minutes to the Opera, the Art Institute and Centennial Park
The Central Loop, one half of a set of conjoined hotels (the Club Quarters Hotel is the other) is a clean, well-updated hotel (although renovations were still in process when I stayed there, so it will be even nicer soon), well situated in downtown Chicago, about halfway between the river and Centennial Park. Its easy walking distance to several attractions, including The Lyric Opera, the French Market, Cloud Gate and the Art Institute. While the building itself is older, the rooms are clean and modern, with comfortable beds, big windows and well-designed bathrooms with granite countertops. The staff is knowledgable and eager to help, whether when recommending restaurants or lending me a charging cable for my phone. I've very happy to have stayed at the Central Loop, and would do so again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

EXCELLENT BUSINESS STOPOVER!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pub adjacent to the hotel is down for renovation.
Location: I always enjoy going to the Berghoff [on the bar side]. Right down the street on West Adams.
I liked the hotel very much - courteous staff, easy checkin, comfortable room, extremely convenient location. If you're looking for a quality hotel without all of the razzle-dazzle bells and whistles, this may be the place for you. My only drawback is that the pub downstairs was closed for renovation. But then there are many, many other choices in the downtown Chicago Loop area. I will certainly return to the hotel the next time I come to Chicago on business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great Central Downtown Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Location and Staff. Free laundry is pretty cool as well!
Cons: The size of the room wasn't great, but like i mentioned we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.
Location: Central Downtown. Look at over all experience.
The hotel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The location of the hotel is perfect to knock out all of the items on the city pass. It is about a 35 minute ride from O'Hare (about a $35-$55 Uber Ride). Once there you really don't need a car since the location is very centralized. The Field Museum is about 1.3 miles (35 Minute Walk through Millennial Park and Buckingham Fountains or a $8-$10 Uber Ride). The John Hancock Center "Chicago 360" is about a 45 minute walk or $12-$16 Uber Ride. The walks might seem like a lot, but as you are walking you are enjoying the city and get to see a lot of other things along the way such as universities, theaters, magnificent mile, etc. If you are looking for a spacious room, consider another place. Unless, they have other bigger rooms available for an extra price. The room we stayed in, the cheapest one on expedia was rather small. It was still very comfortable and clean, just small. We didn't mind because we really only used it to sleep. Over all the hotel was great! Location is a huge plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a quick get-away.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Had a great stay here. The rooms are small, maybe a little cramped if you like your space, but we weren't there except to sleep so we didn't mind. The "guest closet" is the BEST idea I've seen in years; stocked with extra pillows and blankets, more K-cups and creamer if you run out of coffee, toiletries, irons and ironing boards if needed are in here and you can help yourself. Also the lounge downstairs stocked with snacks and a coffee maker accessible at any time is a plus. My only regret is that the pub next door was closed for renovation, but I'm sure we'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel in the hard of the Loop

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Room clean, comfortable bed. Great lighting. fridge and microwave. Tv and radio in room. Everything was wonderful. Good water and etc. provided. Close to all transportation. Located in the hard of the loop. Restaurant and banks plus parks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always a nice stay at the Central Loop

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Location: Centrally located. Walking distance to trains for traveling the city or transport to and from the airport.
I had an issue with being too close to the elevator which was noisy. The front desk staff immediately moved me to another room. Don't ever hesitate to tell them if your room is not to your liking. They will work with you to make you happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I was delighted to read your comments and to see that we looked after you - I wholeheartedly agree - if you ever need anything please let us know, we want you to be happy. Kind regards Paul Tiernan Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Perfect for the business traveler, however I was expecting a slightly larger room. The only real downside was the restaurant connected was closed for renovations so it was a bit inconvenient to have to leave the property for dinner. It was understandable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good and convenient

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Enjoyed my stay there Convenient to transport and main attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Locación location location.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Very good attention. Really quiet. We enjoyed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excellent value

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Close to attractions, shows, and shopping. Staff is friendly, bed is comfortable, room spotless. Ideal!