Ratings based on 951 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Just the hallway smell could be greatly improved Loved the free breakfast and location excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Nice staff
My room was at the basement level which only has a small window and it was a bit humid. But the staff clean my room everyday so it is OK. All the staff are very nice. The Hostel is near the Fullerton Station which has a lot of eatery nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Close to Wrigley Field. Far from the large crowds.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nice neighborhood.
Location: Walking distance to most stores for anything. Bars, restaurants, eateries, dept stores, etc.
Skeptical at first, but after a day, it warmed up well. People coming and going constantly. Roommates were quiet and courteous. Lockers were big enough for important items. Clothes baggage kept under bed and after the trip was done, all my belongings were accounted for. Clean and well maintained. Staff were polite. Great experience. Will recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Getaway Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pro: The staff was lovely, room was clean but quite small, & a nice diversity in guests that you'd expect at a hostel. It says they have activities on certain days (I never saw anything going on but the posters say they exist) The outside is nice & we had no problems getting a parking spot (which unfortunately is a bit costly). The look of the place is very nice. Con: My food was stolen out of the kitchen TWICE, there are a lot of kids running around, some older business people just kind of sitting around being borderline creepy (btw, this is only a hostel by looks. I've been to many hostels all over the world & I mean it when I say this is just a hotel with more chairs downstairs), the breakfast is so awful we never ate it. I mean, it was a good price for a last minute trip but if you have the time & want to have a more authentic hostel experience, I'd try somewhere else. I would not recommend this place. It's not the worst by far, but I just think that "Hostel" implies a certain experience & this place just doesn't pull it off.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Loved this place. Close to zoo.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast was a nice touch.
Cons: Coffee
Location: There is a neat free zoo in walking distance.
Everyone was really nice here. It was clean. The rooms were well secured with keys and there was access in and out late at night. I really liked that the common areas had computers to use and free internet Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Beautiful Lincoln Park Neighborhood

Posted Jul 17, 2016
As a single woman traveling solo I felt very safe and secure at Getaway. The staff were friendly and knowledgable. I've stayed at hostels all across the US and this is the best one by far.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

First Time Hostel Patron

Posted Jun 28, 2016
I thought we'd try a new experience. All we really need on our trips to Wrigley is a bed. Simple place with benefits. Quiet neighborhood. Central to many things. Parked at a nearby children's hospital. Very friendly staff who also took us on an "outing". Comfortable bunkbed. Clean bathroom down the hall. Can't beat the price. Thanks, Chicago Getaway Hostel! I'll be back : )
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really good hostal

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Great staff and management.They place do not look like a common hostal, is better. Great atmosphere from everybody. The rooms are simple s but comfortable. Even though you see the place is far from downtown Chicago, is not that far. It will take you 30 min tops. And the hostal is a few blocks from a train station. It's safe. I walk around 12 am on a Wednesday to the place and you don't have that feeling that you are running in danger. Finally, if it is your first time in a hostal, like it was mine, chicago getway is the best place to start such experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hostel - Great Location

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Staff are incredibly friendly, common areas are nice, neighborhood is nice and safe. Walking distance to a lot of shops and public transit.
Cons: Metal frame on my bunkbed was severely bent, I was afraid the person above me would collapse it.
Location: Nice coffee shops, boutique stores, brunch places nearby.
Staff are excellent and friendly. Common areas are large with a friendly vibe. Bathrooms are clean. Rooms are clean but beds aren't exactly comfortable, but that's what one expects from a hostel. You can't get everything perfect for a great price. Walking distance to L Train and Wrigley Field. Safe neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by Mat, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying at our hostel! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future. Cheers, Mat Meadows General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: People
Nice place but a fold out bed was no good for a nights sleep