Ratings based on 1,132 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel, close to transportation.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
I didn't like the beds because they where kind of noisy. I stayed two days. The first night my bed was in front the AC so half of my body was freezing. I told this to the staff and I was changed to another bed. Overall, you got for what you paid. I will recommend it to someone who is expecting to pay the less for a bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Pleasant, close to main streets, and economical

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: showers, refrigerator, kitchen, location, ease of check-in & checkout, staff, laundry facilities
Cons: The smell in the hallways and stairways should be addressed. Also, they need a faster elevator.
Location: Good for joggers (close to running path along the Lincoln Park beach), near Boystown (gay clubbing area), near many restaurants!
I came here for a summer class I attended at the Newberry Library for three weeks. I enjoyed the fact that it was near Clark, where I could easily take the bus and connect to the redline so I could explore more of the city. Also, it was close to the beach--another plus! Also, near a running path along the beach that I used to exercise. Overall, all of the staff members were friendly with the exception of one guy who always seemed annoyed every time you passed by him in the kitchen. The only issue I had that was beyond the control of the hotel staff was that someone took my bread and salsa (I recommend you cover your food goods in the kitchen in non-transparent plastic bags). On that note, kitchen setup was a big plus for me! There was always space in the fridge and freezer. Being able to cook here helped me to save lots of money on meals. A big con for me was that there was a strange musty smell that always filled up the stairways and hallways leading up to the rooms. Oh yeah, the elevator is SLOW. You are better off taking the stairs most of the time (unless you are hauling up luggage). Showers were always available and well-kept. Coin-operated self-serve laundry facilities in the basement were good but overpriced ($2 for washing and $1.25 for drying--Really?!). Overall I had a good stay. It was economical and I didn't have any real issues. I accidentally locked myself out of my room twice and the staff helped me each time. I would come back here to save some cash.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is what you're paying for here.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Hotel is in a convenient location. Many good bars and restaurants a block away and within walking distance of Lincoln Park, Wrigley and Lake Shore Drive. Facilities are quaint. It's not a hotel and doesn't try to be. The main lobby, back patio and common area are the best features. The staff was a mix of good service and so-so. Person who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. Two other trips to the front desk during our stay were less satisfying. Felt like dealing with snooty baristas those times. Very young staff. The room was dirty. Not just needing a dusting. Every corner had dirt, trash, webs, someone's contact len, etc. and the shower was bad. We were told it would be addressed, but it wasn't. Beds were not comfortable. As my wife aptly stated: it's basically one step above camping. Breakfast was out of food about 30 minutes earlier than posted. When asking to bring out more, was told "what's out there is good for today". So, I guess the lesson is to be early if you want breakfast. Would not bring kids here. If you want location only, this is what you'll get. It's a less expensive option for a reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Comfortable hostel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Chicago was busy due to U2 concert & baseball games. Hostel a good option due to hotel prices being very high. Cleaners were nice & the 1st lady who took our bags while we waited for our room (we arrived early) was nice however the guy who checked us in wasn't very welcoming.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
When a very, very basic hostel charges you an eye-watering $700 for a two-night stay, you'd think they could spare you the $2 bag check.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Last minute heros

Posted May 8, 2017
I have nothing but incredible things to say about this mind blowing hostel. Our flights had been delayed so we weren't able to get any rental cars or train tickets back to Michigan. The staff was amazing! Will definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

It's a old hostel. Remember sleeping in a dorm.

Posted May 3, 2017
No explanation of the place. Wasn't sure where to go or what was included. Do I pay for the breakfast? Self burned waffles. Smoke everywhere. Strange people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Balling on a budget

Posted May 2, 2017
Cons: add soap to bathroom soap dispensers.
Great location and very clean rooms. Staff was friendly if not overly helpful. Lots of people staying there. Good community room for hanging out. Great if you want to cook for yourself. Continental breakfast was basically fruit, coffee and a long ass line for waffles. Everything was done by 930, and they did not seem eager to refill it. Soap dispenser in men's bathrooms were empty for my entire 2 days.
5 out of 5
by Bryce

Amazing

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Safe located next to train station, quiet.
5 out of 5
by Mani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels