Ratings based on 3,623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cleanliness and the gym need attention.

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: I got a bump to a suite. Liked the in-room spa. Quite. Good location. The staff was pleasant and helpful.
Cons: Cockroaches found in the room; I reported this to the front desk at checkout. The equipment in the gym needs some attention. Need ways to control the TV channel and volume from the treadmills. The curtains in the bedroom had holes in them. TV reception poor on some channels.
Location: Good location. Close to where my meetings were.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Stay ! Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Would stay there again, very nice hotel. The only downside, no restaurant or bar in Hotel, However, if you can't find a restaurant or bar in Chicago, you've got problems!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Older hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Small toilet faciliites
Location: Museums and Chicago Art Institute within a few blocks walking
Pretty old hotel - would be due for updating but I noted posted an application for redevelopment of the site. But it was clean and comfortable enough. In a decent location on Michigan Ave walkable to downtown sites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

High Expectations/Low Satisfaction

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The staff was super-nice and they helped us get a cab to the airport.
Cons: More amenities. Lower rates. Towels without holes in them. More organized check-in process.
Location: Centrally located in The Loop. We walked to the lake, to a tour on the river, and throughout downtown.
We were so excited to stay at the Essex Inn. It's prime location and cool photos made it seem like a terrific, contemporary, and comfortable hotel. The staff was certainly fantastic. They were very friendly every time we passed through the lobby, going out of their way to greet us. But after a long day of traveling, we were disappointed that our room wasn't ready, even though it was after 4pm. It felt like the staff really wanted us to give up having a King bed for 2 Queens, but we'd ordered a room with a King bed and really wanted that. So we had to sit in the lobby while our room was readied. When we finally got to go to our room, a staff person was still cleaning it and thought we'd come to deliver a shower liner. She promised to return with one, but never did. Our shower drain backed up, as did our sink and we had to have maintenance come fix it. The room was ridiculously small. We had two towels, both with tears in them. There's no restaurant, no mini bar, and only 4 hangars in the closet. We wouldn't stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to museums

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Old facility. Staff was Excellent! Very comfortable!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Good llocation for some attractions

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Location was good. Walking Distance to the Shedd Aquarium, Adler Planetirum, Soilder Field and several places to eat.
Hotel staff was great. The hotel is an older one but it served its purpose. We only slept a few hours while we were there. Only big negative for us was that the rooms didn't have AC. Well ok they have a unit but the entire building is in a two way system. If they think it's cold out they have the heat turned on. Which if your like us hot natured you need some type of cool air flow and you can't get it, cause if you turn on the unit it runs hot air. We asked for fans and they said they were all out. Then they said open the window. It only opens about 4 inches and the air wouldn't circulate in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Tired, worn, smelly & NOISY!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: The location is good, overlooking the Park and lake, if you have a Suite at the front. Tour bus stops outside. Aquarium, museum, Art Institute etc.
If you want a hotel to sleep in, don't go here. The overground metal wheeled Loop train sounds like it's in the room. Metal framed floor to ceiling windows transmit this and all road noise directly to your room. I slept, just, with trojan-grade earplugs & 2 pillows over my head. There's no air-conditioning, so no circulation of air. Stuffy, scuffed, smelly rooms and corridors. Bedding and towels worn and torn. The decor is 1980s. On the plus side, it's in a good location, nice views, but you might do better in a tent in Grants Park over the road. It should be knocked down and rebuilt. The saving grace was the staff. Front desk and housekeeping, all doing their best. Friendly & helpful in difficult circumstances.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great location and value, Terrible Room

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Value and location
Cons: Gross and hot
Location: Millennium Park, Grant Park, Museums, Navy Pier
My friend and I visited Chicago for the first time and saw that the Essex was in a great location and was available for a reasonable price. When we entered the room, however, we realized why. The room was filthy, dust was caked in all corners of the room. Also there was no control of the thermostat and it was probably 80 degrees during the night. Woke up sweating multiple times. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Just not what Iḿ used to.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: The dirty remote, the bathroom.
FIrst Id like to say that the front desk and bell staff were absolutely amazing. Friendly, helpful, and eager to share Chicago with their guests. The room was just disappointing. Cracked tiles on the floor of the bathroom. A toilet you would find in a public restroom. No control of the temperature of the room. Additionally, I clean the remote and frequently touched surfaces anytime I check into a hotel room. The wipe I used to clean just the remote control was completely black. The remote had probably never been wiped down before. The bed was fine and gave me an OK place to stay for one night. However I would not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A solid hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel is in a great location.
Cons: This hotel could use some updating.
Location: You are very close to the museums and Lake Michigan. Great location to begin your sight seeing of Chicago.
I found the hotel to be decent. The rooms were clean and the staff was very courteous. If you are looking for luxury, this is not it but it is also by no means horrible.