Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alabama

Poor

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Small no cable no WiFi not clean no elevator no breakfast noise
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Downtown accommodation for the cost-conscious

Posted Oct 5, 2017
This hotel is in Chinatown and is within walking distance to the Cermak-Chinatown train stop. It's easy and cheap to travel from Midway to this stop via CTA. The hotel has basic accommodation, meaning: no elevator, a bed and ensuite bath. It's cleanish. Good price for cost-conscious given its location to McCormick Place and downtown points of interest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

OK budget hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: Install a lift.
Location: Lots of good Chinese restaurants within walking distance. Train station one block away.
Stayed here because of price as hotels in downtown Chicago, where I was attending a conference, were horrendously priced. Yes, its a budget hotel so should not complain to much about lacking facilities such as no lift to go to my 3rd floor room. Room was small, but tidy and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chinatown Hotel - A hotel for the budget minded

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The hot water is the quickest I have ever had at a hotel. There are many good Chinese restaurants within walking distance. Short 13 min. walk to the M
Cons: Clean under the beds, provide a floor mat for the bathroom,
This is a minimal hotel and very old. There is no elevator or parking. The TVs do not work properly. Doors are in poor condition. The TVs are not connected to cable but use the local TV stations and have very poor reception, losing the signal frequently. They replace towels daily, however the towels are very thin and small, there is also no floor mat for the shower. Plastic cups are removed daily but not replaced. The beds sheets are not changed daily or the bed made. When I looked under the bed, I found all sorts of surprises that have accumulated over the years, apparently they do not clean under the beds - ever. I found another hotel just around the corner for only $20 a night more and brand new. There is an ottoman for a desk chair. Very uncomfortable. Very tight quarters, not much room to access the closet or move around the bed. As expected for a hotel in the city, there is a lot of noise at night, especially when the trash is picked up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth N.J.

Nice Hotel, close to downtown by train.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Very good location, nice area in the heart of Chinatown.
Cons: Doesn't have fridge or microwave.
Location: Close to subway, supermarket, restaurant, bakeries, gifts shops, good prices!
Good location, nice area, lots of thing to eat and buy, close to the train station, no more than 15 minutes far from downtown. Bedroom fair enough to have a good sleep. Tv, Air conditioner, hot water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The hotel did not seem that clean at all. Also, things in the room were broken and it looked like there were objects left from other guests in the closet. The hotel staff was very friendly. Also, the hotel was very close to the subway which made it easy to get around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will never stay there again!

Posted Sep 1, 2017
I was very, very disappointed with my stay at this hotel. The room conditions were so terrible! I did not at any point feel comfortable there & would never recommend staying there! The sheets were see through, the mattress a mess! The bathroom wasn't in a very good state either. I think they totally overcharge for what you get! Terrible! The whole hotel is in much need of a renovation & overhaul!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Decent Value For $

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Good wi-fi access. Comfortable, clean room.
Cons: Extend checkout from midday to 3pm. More than one room key. Providing bath rags.
Location: There is nothing to do nearby. All the major attractions and variety of stores/restaurants are a $7, 7-min drive away.
I chose this hotel after running out of time and options closer to the Lollapalooza venue. I was not expecting much from $100 a night --- but it served it's purpose. The room was clean and comfortable enough. The AC worked well. The hot water came on after a 15min run. The TV didn't work, but I didn't need it. The wi-fi worked well. Front desk staff were helpful, directive and accommodating when we wanted to leave our bags in the lobby after check-out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice hotel in China town

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The hotel is right in the heart of China town so it's great if you want to experience that side of Chicago. The staff is pretty accommodating and while the facilities are a little older (and show it) it's worth the price and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Chinatown Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again and we are trying to improve our room condition step by step.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location close to CTA red line is great.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
No elevator on the building. Walking up and down 3 floors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. This is existing building and couldn't add elevator. This is our draw back. We do make special consideration for lower floor if you requested when you book. Chinatown Management team