Ratings based on 993 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

close to the rail system for downtown

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Quiet air conditioning
Location: Great for bars and restaurants and rail links
the hotel was ok, not as nice as the photos show and was disappointed when first saw the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location/value. Nice,comfortable rooms.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very satisfying. Rooms have been recently upgraded. Continental breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Covington, VA

Great location, good place to stay.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and professionalism of staff; cleanliness of room/bathroom; location.
Location: Steps away from train--3 lines; near Drew's on Halstead and Anne Sather's restaurants. Close to Wrigley Field. Walgreens very near.
Enjoyed our 5-night stay at the City Suites Chicago. All staff members were very pleasant, welcoming, and went out of their way to be helpful. The room was small, but it was comfortable and most adequate for our needs. Most importantly, it was extremely clean; in fact, this was probably the cleanest bathtub I've ever had during a hotel stay. As other viewers have noted, our room did overlook the train station, and you could near the trains and announcements during the day. However, I did not notice or hear them during the night and only once in the early morning--the first day we awakened there. The hotel is only steps away from the red, brown and purple EL lines so it is very convenient. As our son has recently moved to Chicago, we will be visiting often and definitely will book all our future stays at the City Suites Hotel. As an aside, I highly recommend Drew's on Halstead as a really good restaurant for dinner--a short walk from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by maria, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel!

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: My travel companion and I don't have a recommendation for improvement. We went with another couple who had the same type of room and experience.
Location: Walk or take the "L" train to restaurants galore, shops, parks, the zoo, Wrigley Field, bars ... you name it! We saw a Cubs game while in town.
The Manager, Basanta, and his staff are AMAZING!! The room was so spacious and clean and had an adjoining living room with couch, desk, TV, and separate AC. We were on the fourth floor, and instead of the elevator we took the stairs because they were so easy to navigate. The hotel is located seconds from the "L" train station but you don't hear the trains while in your room. There's a free continental breakfast every morning, and a microwave in the cozy lobby with dishware and silverware available to heat up leftovers (24/7) from great restaurants. The hotel is walking distance to eateries, shops, parks, the zoo, Wrigley Field, bars ... you name it! We saw a Cubs game while in town. You can rent bicycles, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

safe hotel close to wrigley field

Posted May 25, 2017
Great location- right next to metro station for easy access to downtown- walking distance to wrigley field. Hotel in need of some refurbishment especially in lobby and hallways but it appears like this might be about to start. Initially given very dark room on second floor- manager very helpfully switched us to top floor with much more natural light. Felt safe. Also, good continental breakfast included. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

The staff is very personable and very helpful

Posted May 11, 2017
When I arrived in Chicago it was chilly that evening, we asked for a space heater and we received it. I'm thankful for the prompt quickness that came with the service. This was my second time staying there I will be back, thank you for making my stay very pleasurable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by maria, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Close to Wrigley
Cons: none
Location: Close to the L train, walking distance to many places
Was in town for a couple Cubs games. Hotel is within walking distance to Wrigley. Lots to see and do nearby. Hotel staff is always very courteous, this was our second stay here. Will stay again, next time in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Nice room. Hallway could use updates. Convenient self parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, OH

Simple hotel, steps away from the red line station

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Just stayed for two nights. Very comfortable, quiet room. Breakfast was good for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

Near the Metro

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We went to a show at the Metro, which was only a 20 minute walk away. Lots of great restaurants nearby, and right next to the train so it was easy to get to. Would definitely stay here again!